I messed up big time... Failing, the trap of perfectionism and other things

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Wow hello Steemit.

I messed up big time.

2.jpg

So today I made my big debut.

I actually joined Steemit in 2017 but only decided to post today because, well as stupid as it sounds, I wasn't confident enough to put myself out there like that online even in writing. Plus I kinda wanted to change my username but today I decided this is something I've been thinking about for a long time, I'm just gonna do it.
I wrote my welcome post spelled checked it and spell checked it again then hit publish. I closed my laptop and walked off with a smile, glad I had done something I had been meaning to do for months. So here I am 8 hours later I came back and saw I've gained followers. Joy! I tried not to get too excited as it was just my first day and I knew I had a long way to go.
So I go to my post and find its hidden. Huh? I look for it, find it and it says:

"Your post has been hidden due to low ratings"

1.jpg

Let me tell you guys my heart nearly dropped out of my arsehole when I read that.
I though God what could I have done wrong? Was it my post? Did I not publish correctly? What could it be?
Then I read my comments. The first one simply said "Hmmm..." and then pulled up a google search result showing my (hopefully previous profile pic, I'm not sure I tried to change it but I'm not sure it's changed) to be someone else's picture. God. My heart started beating. As dumb as it sounds this was my logical reasoning:

  1. OK I'm new to posting on Steemit, I'm not sure about this new thing.
  2. Alright I know what, I'll find a picture that's free to use online that looks similar to me then as time goes on I can decide when and if to put my actual face online
  3. I'm sure it will be alright its a public domain picture from Unsplash anyway.

Oh Boy was I wrong. 3 out of 3 wrong. Someone rightfully called me out on it and I can understand why. Using an attractive young girl as your profile picture which then turns out not to be you looks a little scammy. I understand. I just genuinely thought it was the best course of action at the time. And I would like to take this chance in the post to publicly apologise. Under no circumstances do I "blame" the Steemians who called me out. They were right to. It was a bit of a shock but they were right.

Now how does this relate to perfectionism? Well for near about 9 months I delayed posting on Steemit because the circumstances "weren't right". Wrong time, wrong username, wrong everything. And when I finally do it was on what I least expected that I messed up. So yeah I wasted all that time only to fall on a hurdle I couldn't even imagine.

Moral of the story: Just do what it is you want to do because no time is perfect and even when you try your hardest to do things right you can still fail. Or succeed. But you'll definitely never know unless you just go for it.

So Steemit this is eveangel signing off. See ya around;)

P.s I did mention in my first post that I would be doing an on going book review of "The Road Less Traveled" by Dr M.Scott Peck. This book is amazing and is actually one of the reasons I was able to deal with this situation and understand it from others perspectives' instead of just blaming other people or freaking the hell out. So I will 100% be doing that.

p.p.s The pictures in this post are most definitely not me I 'm just using them to make point. Let me not make that mistake again.

Bye Steemit ;)

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community @eveangel! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Thanks for the explanation and for the apologies, welcome to steemit! I am @ichie1 and I’ll love to see your progress and success here.


Each day holds a surprise. But only if we expect it can we see, hear, or feel it when it comes to us. Let's not be afraid to receive each day's surprise, whether it comes to us as sorrow or as joy It will open a new place in our hearts, a place where we can welcome new friends and celebrate more fully our shared humanity.

Henri Nouwen


Make new friends, but keep the old; Those are silver, these are gold.

Joseph Parry


The link below is steemit frequent asked questions’ page, it may help answer some of your questions as young member to steemit; https://steemit.com/faq.html

Let’s heal our world with genuine love and acceptance for one another.

Thank you for taking the time to read my post and to write this genuinely nice comment. It's funny because you often hear quotes like the ones above and you think you get it. But today I genuinely do, especially the first one about sorrows (and joys) allowing us to fully partake in humanity. Thanks again for commenting ;)

Really liked your content do follow @bloggyspot for more support and love.. Welcome to #SteemitFamily.
You can also join @Steemitunity to join #SteemitCommunitySupport.
❤️love ❤️love.

Thank you so much for your kindness.

Welcome to Steem, @eveangel!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 3194 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemPlus 2.19 : Updated Boost Button - Collaboration announcement - Earn more with SteemPlus points.

Hi there! Welcome aboard!

Happy to be here ;) Thank you!

Welcome aboard eveangel, dont let that discourage you from posting more in the future, the community is generally friendly, you just got off to the wrong start. Hope to see more of you soon here!

Yeah I'm actually looking forward to posting it's kinda fun. Thanks for the welcome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67334.64
ETH 3519.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.10