Introduction: You Win Some, You Dim Sum

What's up, everybody?

My name is Karen, but a lot of people call me "Boo" and other ghost-related puns. I unironically say things like "you win some, you dim sum," and I look approximately like this:

meet the artist 1.jpg

When I use words, I apparently get "really sarcastic" and "swear too much" and "please stop yelling in this McDonalds, people are staring," so let's do this instead:

meet the artist 2.jpg

I currently work in the entertainment industry, where I do film and television distribution. My day job requires a lot of organization and Excel spreadsheets, which I really enjoy, because I am extremely f*cking pedantic.

In my free time, I like to draw. Here's some stuff I drew.

22857918_2027473550865284_8323076299530698752_n.jpg

22710541_345439332587723_3955229666284929024_n.jpg

And some more stuff.

Long Hu Dou.jpg

Run Fast Run Faster.jpg

Even ... more?

the deerman redraw.jpg

ska band boss battle tag team color scheme 2.jpg

ALRIGHT, that's enough.

I like bright color palettes and dramatic lighting. My artistic inspirations include: literature, graphic design, printmaking, music, film noir, fashion, the 80s, surrealism, postmodernism, Chinese culture, and American traditional tattoo art.

I hope to start selling prints of my work soon, and to start exploring comics and visual storytelling, which is something I've always been curious about.

I'm here on Steemit to share my work with people, learn me some things, and hopefully make new friends. Special shoutout to my pal and fellow artist @corinneiskorean for dragging me into another zany scheme introducing me to this cool new community — everyone, check her out her webcomic!

Here's my verification. You can see that I really look like a punk rock frat boy Asian mother, and that my hair, my hat, and my tattoos are really Like That™ in real life.

Photo on 12-7-17 at 21.51.jpg

Annnnd that's about it. I love talking to people, so come say hey! Tell me about your favorite movies! Me and my ghost friend will see y'all around!

meet the artist 3.jpg

Sort:  

yo ive been waiting all day for this finally i can die in peace

u can now face god and walk backwards into hell

hi @evacprocedure nice knowing you..have a blast in steemit..following you!!

Hi @evacprocedure , welcome to @steemit, I can help you to explain a little about steemit. because I believe that you can be the best blogger and contributor on this site. So I'll follow you and you follow me ^. ^

@johntor

hey, thank you for the welcome! glad to be here.

Haha, this is the best introduction that I've read so far. Never stop yelling in McDonalds. Keep posting and I'll keep clicking that upvote.

hahaha, thanks! appreciate it, though maybe i'll change it up and go yell in a burger king tomorrow.

Best introduceyourself post I have read and I've read about 5 total. I do like the infographic and illustration. Makes me think I should have put a little more time into mine. You've impressed me enough to follow. For whatever that's worth.

haha. best out of five isn't that bad! that infographic is actually a little meme i've seen artists do, and you should totally get in on it too. it's a really easy way to introduce yourself and your art style to potential clients!

i know they're pretty iconic, but shamefully, i still have yet to check them out ...

Welcome to Steemit. I think you will like it. There are plenty of people who love talking about cryptocurrencies, but lots of other interests too. Have fun

thanks!! i'm curious about this whole cryptocurrency thing but i don't quite understand it. hopefully i'll learn a little something here.

Congratulations @evacprocedure! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

You have a very interesting character profile... can't wait to see u turn it into visual narrative...

thank you! that's the plan, but there's a lot for me to learn before i can move into comics and visual storytelling, haha.

What a fun introduction. I remember seeing your post around when I joined, but didn't have a chance to check it out because everything was so overwhelming. Anyway, glad to see another illustrator here and wish you the best!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62809.89
ETH 2684.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56