Hello Steemit! I'm Addicted To The Internet, And That's Okay!

I've never been the most, socially available, person. At least not in face to face conversation. When I was younger I'd spend my recess reading a good book and trying to shelter myself from bullies, rather that trying to make friends or joining in on a game of tag. Because of this, the internet quickly became my home.

I have become rather addicted to this little online bubble. The worst part is, I don't even try to use the internet to gain knowledge from this unlimited source of information and productivity. No, I've always been far more attracted to the social media, spend nine hours a day looking at other peoples adventures, side of the internet.

Recently, I started to feel like all these amazing habits that I could be forming, yoga, baking, hiking, etc., have all been hidden by my desire for procrastination. I mean, I spend hours upon hours just trying to pass the time, when I could be doing so much more.

I always knew that you could make a living off the internet, and I always wanted to. When I was nine years old I tried to make my first YouTube video, and then I deleted it five minutes later because I'm an insanely self-conscious person. After that, I spent the next five years in an endless cycle of creating a YouTube channel, deleting that YouTube channel, creating an Instagram, deleting that Instagram, and so on, and so forth.

Before you know it, I thought it was to late for me. I knew that If I ever wanted to make it on YouTube, I'd have to already be a professional, have ten green screens, high end editing programs, and seven different cameras. I was about ready to except my fate, make peace with the fact that the only thing that would ever come out of my internet addiction, was a filtered view of the world, when I saw a light at the end of the tunnel, Steemit.

e3755c5e590de0c277a493634d32bfc1.jpg

It was like a miracle! All my prayers had finally been answered! My heart was dancing in a meadow of daisies, The clouds of my depression were rolling away, I was freeee!!! I may be playing this up to much...

Anyway, with all seriousness, I can't wait to get to know this platform, and all of you, more. I just got a camera, so I hope to start making Dtube videos very soon, and I love to share my experiences with complete strangers through the filter of a screen, so this is perfect.

I'm Erin Barker, see you soon!

Social Media Links:
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/the_erin_barker/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/ErinBarker_
Tumblr: https://theerinbarker.tumblr.com/

Sort:  

Many people are addicted to the internet. Myself included. Upvoted and followed !

hello welcome to steemit..
i will follow you in your account so i am hoping you followed me back.. thanks..

Welcome to steemit enjoy the platform it’s a great community friendly community in a lot of opportunity to make money!! I post about nightlife entertainment and my personal life! Looking forward to seeing some of your post So I can Upvote them. Follow me and I’ll follow back.. @limelightmg

😊welcome!follow me, good

Welcome, just getting started myself and poking around.

If you are gonna have an addiction, you might as well get paid for it! Lolwelcome steemmate!

Welcome to the platform erinbarker! Explore and enjoy it :)

Congratulations @erinbarker! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @erinbarker! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02