Chapter One

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

I hope this works, the instructions on how to actually make an introduce yourself post are.. umm.. from what I can see, non existent.

I am here to give this format a try. I don't partake in social media sites such as twitter or face book or whatever else it is that people seem to be into. I am however quite an experienced forum member on different sites around the place over a number of years.

My main goal of content in being here is as a practising artist. I also however have many thoughts and anecdotes on life and times which I like to put out there, for what it is worth.
My art form is firstly painting, but I do have a wide range of disciplines including jade carving and wire weaving sculpture.
My profession is creative based, having spent over 20 years in the film industry as a Scenic artist here in New Zealand.

I would love to make this account be of use to people in ways of inspiration and artistic companionship. We often need a community which we can access for feedback and constructive critique, but also having a place where we can just share in like minded thoughts, or even to discover contrasting practices to challenge and inspire.

I will also just be adding thoughts and happenings on matters other than creativity which I feel worthy of sharing.

Thanks for reading, please check back for material which I will begin to add in coming days and weeks!
DSC00226.JPG

Sort:  

Hey there! Welcome! It’s my third day so I totally understand how you feel!! Gave you a follow tho! Looking forward to reading more and seeing some of your art too 😊✌️

Hello Katnia! Thanks for your greeting and for my first follow!
I returned the action and added you as well, nice photos!

Summer has finally come down here in NZ and there has been a constant floating of very large Monarch Butterflies passing by the window. (Taken just after typing)IMG_20171201_151444.jpg

Sure thing and thank you! Oh I love monarchs!!! I caught a close up vid of one that flew into my school’s greenhouse!!

They are very special signs in my family!

Oh really? What do they mean to you?

Several linkages. The main one, when my grandfather passed away he was found in the room he was staying in, and a monarch that had just hatched from somewhere was found inside with the window closed, drying its wings ready to fly. Then, when his wife, my Grandma passed away, the casket was put in the hearse and the door shut. When we opened the back door again at the cemetery, sitting on the name plate on the casket was TWO monarchs, they flew out and off, in the direction of the grave site that had my grandfather buried there already.

That is beyond incredible! Please share this story in a post! I can see why they mean so much to your family! That's so beautiful

welcome to steemit comunity i hope you enjoy here :-)

welcome to the magic that is steemit!

Thank you very much!

welcome enjoybeing, nice to meet you!

Welcome to the community of content creator! I am a new user as well and I know how exactly it feels like. Follow me at @jararyu and I will follow you back.

Thank you jararyu, done!

Hi @enjoybeing , welcome to @steemit, I can help you to explain a little about steemit. because I believe that you can be the best blogger and contributor on this site. So I'll follow you and you follow me ^. ^

@johntor

Thank you johntor for the nice endorsement. Done!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94