Hello, Steemit! I would like to introduce myself!

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

 Hello! My name is Vika.                                                                                                                                                                           

It is winter here now, the weather is not so good, I spend more time at home, so I have enough time to write a few words about myself. I am 32 years old and most of my time I devote to my little son now. He is just one year old and I think it is a wonderful age when a baby knows the world around himself. It is the biggest happiness to watch how your baby grows up because I know the world with him together. I began to pay attention on such small things which I have not noticed for a long time because of routine of life. Now, exploring our world with my son, I admire it myself. I know that some women are bored to tears on maternity leave, they feel as they are having stagnation in life, I was worried I would feel the same but after a while I understood that it is sometimes useful not to rush all the time somewhere, it is sometimes great just to stop and to watch the world around, to feel like a kid. I again fly a kite, admire butterflies over flowers, draw the sun rays.                                                                                                                                                                                                     

     


I think a person should take advantage of any period of his life and to be happy with it. Now I have more time to help homeless animals. Unfortunately, the problem of homeless animals is very big in Ukraine. How many indifferent people try not to notice homeless cats and dogs, pass by animals, excusing themselves they are busy and have no time for pets. How many people throw away kittens and puppies like a garbage, leave them in the streets. Here we have a group of young people who deliberately kill homeless animals with an extra cruelty. They call themselves doghunters. These young people entertain themselves, putting poison on playgrounds, yards, shoot animals using weapons. Their aim is to kill cats, dogs and birds with a perverted cruelty and after it to boast their achievements in social networks. I think people should not stand aside knowing such problems. As  famous Russian writer Chekhov told: "Indifference is paralysis of the soul, premature death." As for me, I am an animal shelter volunteer. I also have two cats at home and I am doing my best to instill love for pets in my son. I think it is a duty of each person to show kids by your own example that they should take care of our younger brothers. It will make our world kinder and will clear it of cruelty.  


And now I would like to tell a few words about my main job.  I love teaching. It is something I have done for over ten years and sometimes it is hard to believe that I have been teaching for so long. However, it was not something planned. It came as something improvised that worked out very well.

In school I was quite lazy but noticed that my favorite subject was English and that I was really good at it, especially grammar. I spoke very well and knew the language by heart so studying English at school was easy and fun for me. Despite this, the idea of being a teacher had never crossed my mind. Standing in front of people and speaking was just a terrifying image for me because I was quite shy.

I went through some life changing experiences and needed to start working. One day I dropped by the institute and rector called me into his office. He told me that he needed a teacher and that there was a student that had an English class that same day. “You want me to be that teacher?”, I asked. I thought he was joking but he got up and handed me the student and teacher books. “It will be easy. Just follow the instructions. You know English so you won’t have any problems”. I did my best to get out of that responsibility but deep inside I knew I needed the money.

I still remember that class. I was sweating and could not stop moving before getting in the classroom. I prayed and told my father several times to get me out of the situation. “You have to keep your word”. Man, I was so nervous! I got in and tried to look like an experienced teacher. It was a terrible class but I managed to get through the hour and a half. However, I did not run from the challenge. I started learning to teach through experience. I followed step by step the teacher’s book and, although it was not easy, I think it worked out for the best.

Now, ten years later and after studying methodology, I know it was the right decision. I have learned a lot and believe me, I am still learning. I am very humble and strongly believe that there is a lot of room for improvement. My students are very kind with me (most of the time) and they always motivate me by telling me that they like my classes. I feel it is a gift being a teacher and that there are some things which you are born with that makes you a teacher. When I enter a classroom it is just an awesome feeling. Of course there are times when I run out of patience but in the end I enjoy sharing some acquired knowledge to others.  


I am very happy to join Steemit community and to share facts of my life with all of you. Thank you for your attention and  I hope my blog will be useful.

Sort:  

Hello @enigma84,

Your post has been chosen by the communities of SteemTrail as one of our top picks today.

What do you love to write about? Join us on SteemTrail today and find others who share your interest!

The SteemTrail Community looks forward to more great stuff from you. So, please keep up the great work!

Keep on Steemin!

Welcome to Steem I'm also new here

Hello, nice to meet you!)

me2 :) welcome all!

Hello, Vika! I hope that you enjoy Steemit very much! You can check out my photos I also have cats I totally love animals

Hello! Thank you, with pleasure, it is always great to meet somebody with similar interests)

Welcome to the club! You're gonna love it here! :D

thank you, I already love it, there are so many interesting people here)

up voted and followed

welcome to steemit

Welcome to Steemit, Vika.

Welcome upvoted and followed.

You're welcome.

Welcome to Steemit!

Welcome to Steemit Vika! Those cats seem to love you!

thank you) Yes, they know me very well)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58625.96
ETH 3101.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41