Introducing Myself

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

logo1.gif

My name is Rebecca Brents ... and yes, I'm a real live person.

rebecca.jpg

My husband, Peter @catweasel, and I own the metaphysical website, Enchanted Spirit. I write virtually all the content for it. He does the background work that makes it magical, makes it pretty -- and puts it out online. We've done this for over 17 years now -- although following a major calamity about this time last year, we've had to begin again from scratch ... replacing lost content and adding more to it day by day. If it looks a little thin for 17 years of effort, that's the reason why -- but we're getting there, one step ... one essay ... one piece at a time.

We live in an extremely rural part of New Mexico -- where our ISP connection can be occasionally a little iffy. But even that is improving, with the help of a small local company really dedicated to giving good service and making life in the online world happen here for everyone.

I was introduced to the very existence of Steemit.com a few weeks ago by Scott Dunn who writes his own literate and thoughtful blog on life, politics, parenting and more at @digitalfirehose . I have enjoyed his writing a long time on Google+ where we met. I plan to continue that tradition here -- and invite you to do the same. (Do have a look at what he does!)

I write from a very unique perspective. Issues of conscious living, alternative health therapies and nutrition, spiritual thought (not conventional religion!!), metaphysical philosophy -- and some of the occult sciences like astrology, tarot, numerology, etc., find a home in a lot of my work. Honestly, you don't have to be "a believer in this stuff" to gain from what I write, because I don't approach it that way, and I don't beat my readers over the head with it. Still, I realize my writing won't be for everyone -- and that's fine.

I read a lot. I have opinions I'm willing to put forward and discuss. I'm interested in a wide range of everyday issues -- including cooking, politics, sociology, psychology, life skills, health and nutrition, pets and wildlife, the environment, social issues, philosophy, art and entertainment, science. I'm not much into technical stuff -- or home repairs. (I have a husband for that!!) But if you're a person with something to say -- and enough manners to do it well, we'll almost certainly find common ground somewhere.

Meanwhile, like most of you, I plan to write on what interests me ... on things I'm exploring for personal reasons as well as things I already know. Having lived a while, I know quite a bit on quite a few topics. Things may get a little eclectic here -- more so than on our website. That's why you may find something that interests you, even if my posts on the occult disciplines don't. (If you're proud of what you do, introduce yourself. Make recommendations of people you enjoy. I'm looking for people to follow.)

In short, we're looking to contribute "something different" to the Steemit community -- and we're looking for a special audience ... people with curiosity, an open mind, a desire to connect more deeply with life -- and who are willing to walk a while (or at least occasionally) on the witchy and woo-woo side of New Age thought. Who knows? Maybe you've been looking for me ... and maybe we're looking for you.

Stay tuned.

Sort:  

Hi Rebecca !

I find your arrival here very interesting. Actually I love talking about these kinds of subjects.

Your perspective on them is also interesting, as many of "astrologists" and many others only use technique to "sell" you the thing.

Actually, I want to know, what is your opinion about these occult sciences ?

I'm not here to fight wether it is right or wrong, but just to discuss our opinions ;)

Hi @kingswisdom -- Well, hang around and you're sure to find out what I think and how I use these various occult tools. I find they add a lot of interesting dimensions to life, and discussing them with someone else who is also intrigued by them is always a pleasure. I look forward to more conversations. Have a lovely week-end. Thank you for stopping by.

Welcome to Steemit,
Glad to see more people like you.
Nice post, I just upvoted your post and and sent you a tip.
I help new Steemit members! Upvote this comment and follow me at @chantha! I will upvote your future posts!

Hello, @chantha -- thank you for your kind words and lovely welcome card! Thank you also for introducing yourself. You seem to have been around Steemit more than I have ... although I've been reading things here and there, trying to learn not to make mistakes! I may stop by for advice from time to time since you offered. It's nice to know there's a friendly place to go. Have a lovely week-end. Thank you for stopping by.

I CANNOT believe you did not get more hits on your posts. I am resteeming and I hope you get a few more hits

Here's a good luck cat for you!

Come join us in Minnow Support (PALnet) on discord. You will see a few of the votes you have received are from the peeps in the PALnet community, they are a loving, helpful community 🤗🤗🤗

If you need help let me know

Thank you for this. I did briefly click on the link to it from your post yesterday -- managed to install Discord ... but haven't had time yet to get back to it. And thank you, too, for the offer of help. Lord knows I may need it!

Hahaha! We all need a little help sometimes 💓💓💓🤗

Bless your heart! We love cats at our house -- and every stray for forty miles seems to know it. A bunch of them end up living here. (We live way, way out in the country.) We have a new one sleeping under our porch lately who is still too skittish to catch. But he, too, likes the eats around here -- and has been hanging around for several months. Thank you for the kitty gif. She is a real sweetie.

Sweet! Cats are such little weirdos! I shared your post in the palnet group so I hope it gains some traction!

Hello New friend! Welcome to the community. :) Love the clear voice you have in your writing. I don't know if we have been looking for each other, but I always admire those gifted like yourself. Your writing reads so effortlessly. You will find much success here. Give it time and lots of words and soon you will see the rewards come. They will come as you have said in the form of new friendship and steem of course.

Hello, @kubbyelizabeth -- Thank you for your kind words and encouragement. In the beginning of any new venture, those are the stuff of life. I have lots of words to share and hopefully, some will have value for you! Friends are always welcome. The great thing about the internet is they can drop by any time -- so don't be a stranger.

I'm still trying to come to grips with the whole concept of steem ... but I trust that, too, will eventually come clear! It's like a new world, stepping over this threshold. Thank you for your warm welcome to it. You have a great Sunday evening!!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by princessmewmew from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Welcome to Steem @enchantedspirit I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Thank you very kindly. You have some interesting posts in your stream.

Welcome to Steemit @enchantedspirit, I have upvoted and sent you a tip. Check my blogs if you are looking for tips on how to earn more Steem and SBD.

Thank you. I will.

Thank goodness you are a REAL person!! Hi Rebecca :)

Hi back, @scarlettidy. Thank you for stopping by. Yours was the first reply I saw when I scooted in very briefly a couple of days ago. It's taken me a few days to get back again, but I appreciate your response. Carry on!

Welcome to the community !!

Welcome.jpg

Happy steeming !
@akkha

@akkha -- Thank you for your cute welcome card. I love teddy bears!

welcome Enchantedspirit to Steemit ! Glad to see you. I hope you enjoy your time here, its a great community :) Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me at @khunpoom

Thank you. I look forward to learning more.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63747.71
ETH 2543.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66