Yet another platform? (Also thinking about 2018)

It seems a bit crazy that I would be thinking about another platform when there are some huge ones that "everyone" uses. But I'm a bit of a early adopter (when I can afford it) even though it usually dooms whatever thing I'm adopting (Zune anyone). So I'll semi-repost to get started and see what this can offer. It certainly represents a different way of thinking that intrigues me and it gives me a way to introduce myself.

2017 was a challenging year, both professionally and personally. For work, I've been fighting with a process in Oracle that is just not working even with months of SRs. With the family there have been comings and goings as my kids dip their toes into the adult world. I think my theme for the past year would be "transitions". With the churn, my main creative outlets have seriously stagnated. I've created content in the past, but my EP is now 2 years in the past, my YouTube channel's last video was months ago (though I did put up one for my mobile saw workstation), and my woodworking interest has not really yielded any useful output (but did net me a table saw and a place for storing wood).

So 2018 needs to be a return to being productive creatively. I don't want to necessarily give specific milestones, but rather I want to have habits that mean I am creating consistently. As Scott Adams says: don't create goals, create systems. That way, even if I am "failing" at a goal I'm still learning/improving skills that will help me immediately and in the future. Here are the skills I want to improve this year: music composition, capturing that music, using wood to solve problems/improve aesthetics in my house, and capturing things I like and want to share. To be able to say I improved in 2018, I think that these activities will help me.

Release my new EP - To do this I will need to take the 4 remaining songs I have written and get them captured. This will require me to once again pick up the guitar, listen critically to my existing compositions, and get those recorded (I did get one song recorded).

Workshop Space - I need to get my garage workshop space setup in a manner where I can actually turn wood into a finished project (you can see the existing setup in the photo). By getting the space setup so I can get to work with minimal setup, will allow me to just get stuff done. I am also starting a list of things I can build that will make other work easier too (for instance a new studio desk.)

Video/Instagram Content - By documenting what I am doing in the other spaces, it will force me to get better at capturing that information. From how to light photos/videos, to how to break down project in digestible steps, to creating an overall flow that will allow people to consume. This category feels like the catalyst to make sure I'm really creating and not just talking about it. It also allows for feedback and for me to be involved in the various communities and be able to give back.

This should be interesting and I hope you are getting into the new year too! Man, I need a snappy tagline...

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit
Awesome post you have the right vibes
There's so much prospect on this platform and so we would like to invite to our rapidly growing community @elitesteemians To Help you grow a follower base and get you up and going. You can also join our whatsapp group where we keep you updated on the best events on steemit. Link to group in bio.
Happy steeming.

welcome the community

We have started a woodworking community here on steemit and would welcome you. We have a discord channel, link here: Woodworking on Steem Discord Channel And a weekly woodworking post competition ,
you can read the post here

1createdwoodworking.jpg

Thanks @jist

Thanks everyone!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59715.05
ETH 3186.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42