You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Yet another minnow in the blue ocean--yikes!

Hi! I'll check Snbbox for sure.
Homeschool can be done in any number of ways. Since I have five, my first kiddo was like an experiment! Tried the totally hands-on type of homeschooling but that took way too long. For instance we visited a reservoir when we learned about reservoirs but you can imagine how time consuming this was. And we also went into making things as we learned...again took too long.

And as more and more kids came along it was not practical nor viable.

I would suggest doing a hybrid--basically more or less hands-on (depending on you and the child) and some readings and workbooks. We did a lot of read alouds which was awesome for bonding time, and a chance for the child to ask and talk about things we read on.

As for curriculum, there are plenty to choose from. especially nowadays when we can just Google. (I love Classical Education--reading classics.)

So now my two kids do a hybrid--they do online school which provides a curriculum (the students choose what classes to take--but of course there are the usual mandatory ones like English, Math and Science and a Social Science. And then we have reading and ECA--of their choice.

But when starting out the biggest lesson I learned is not to push the child. I pushed our first one the hardest and I think I somewhat killed the love of learning for him whilst the others all strive to excel on their own. Have fun with kids! They grow up...oh, too, too soon.

Take care!
Emma

Sort:  

Thank you for your reply @emmarightauthor!

It sounds fun going around in field trips with your kids. But I think you are right, hybrid looks like the more practical one.

What's an ECA?

I agree with you on not pushing a child. I've just listened to Naveen Jain, billionaire philanthropist who plans to mine on the moon, say 'you can lead a horse to water, but you can't make it drink.' So, it is better to develop in kids that thirst for learning.

Yeah, time flies.

Peace!

@johannrandall

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66498.47
ETH 3469.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62