An intro to Emily-rose: art, writing, psychology, and cats

Hello all!
I just joined the steemit community and I'm already really excited about the opportunities and all the wonderful people and work I've seen so far!I wanted to give a brief introduction and explain what I plan on using steemit for:

I'm currently a Psychology major and Studio Art minor with plans on going into art therapy. So not only do I create lots of art work, but I try and show how art can be a helpful tool in coping with day to day struggles. I plan to post all my past, current, and in-progress works of art, poems, and story ideas as well as interesting psychology information that I learn over the years in practice!

IMG_2558.jpg

This piece is a reproduction (original image below) of a painting by Leonid Afremov that I created in my senior year in high school. I stretched the 3'x4' canvas myself and used acrylic paints (not oil like the orignal)! My final assignment was to recreate a famous painting and I chose this one because of the bright, contrasting colors, and relaxing atmosphere it provided.

IMG_1474.jpg
This is the original image by Leonid Afremov and I suggest you check out his other amazing oil paintings! They all use the same brush stroke techniques and vibrant colors.

IMG_5328.jpg

Lastly, I figured I should mention my extreme love of cats. This is me with Stanley, a grumpy cat that doesn't want my love but I try to give it anyway. :)
I can't wait to be a part of this community! Thanks for reading~

~emily-rose

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit Family

Welcome to Steemit! We have two things in common, I'm also a Psychology major and I LOVE cats - I don't have an arty bone in my body however! Enjoy your time here :) Much love, @sweetpea

Guess what we are getting ready here for cat party on steemit too. Life is good since i left Facebook

Billy 'the cat'

You have great taste! :) thanks for the warm welcome, looking forward to seeing your posts!

Welcome! Beautiful paintings, I hope to see many more.

Thank you! Looking forward to seeing more of your work as well

Hey Emily-Rose, wow, fantastic reproduction of that painting! Welcome to Steemit, and good luck with your upcoming decluttering. ;-)

Followed!

Welcome on board @emily-rose :) I love art too! It's definitely a good escape for me and my not so mobile lifestyle. I'm home bound for the most part due to chronic illness but sometimes I let myself escape through creating and painting :). Art is definitely therapeutic. Oh, and I love cats too! He does look grumpy but you know he secretly loves the hugs :) :) Have fun here!

Thank you! Isn't it amazing how art can have such a positive impact??

Awesome art work! I can see you will go far and successful! here on Steemit and the world!! Welcome!

Hello and Welcome! Nice to meet you! Thanks for join

Welcome to Steem @emily-rose I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Thank you so much!

Great painting. I thought it looked familiar from somewhere and then I saw it was a reproduction.

welcome to steemit my friend

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66081.13
ETH 3315.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69