It's not what you think...

...it's just another introduction. :)

Hello Steemit, my name is Fergal (it's Irish, like myself) and I'm happy to join the Steemit Community. It's a very interesting concept, made more interesting to see it in action!

Here's an art student's interpretation of me;

face3.png

I was a secondary (high school) teacher of science and physics for about a decade; there I am with my final class of seniors. This card, filled in with various quotes of things I didn't realise I say a lot and goodbye best wishes, is amongst my most prized posessions.

IMAG1192.jpg

...although I just now realised they wrote "Take Care" in quotation marks... which is quite a bit more ominous.

Last year, after a lot of thought, I decided it was time to come home. New Zealand is all kinds of beautiful, and the people are kind, but I couldn't be happier to be back. These grey skies and deep greens are where I belong. This is the view from my office window at the time of writing...

IMAG1195.jpg

#nofilter #homeland

A big part of the reason I came home was that I became involved in research in NZ which invited me to really think about the education system as a whole.. to challenge the precepts, the conditions, the purpose of schooling. I slowly came to be increasingly certain that our education systems are in serious trouble.. and something needs to be done.

But what?

To try and answer this question, I began a PhD into the philosophy of education with a focus on the epistemology and psychology of collaboration. This is my life now…

IMAG1194.jpg

If you have some strong ideas about education or collaboration, send me a message. There is a lot to talk about.

When I'm not stuck in books, I'm stuck into one of these...

Boardgames.jpg

My preciouses...

I've always been tabletop geek, but nowadays I'm a less-closeted tabletop geek. From the few occasions of playing them as a child with my family to the long evenings of Risk and Warhammer as a teenager, there's something about them that has always resonated with me.

They're just an easy way to make a good evening great.

Other interests include writing, politics, graphics and trading cryptos and about each these, I can rely on the immortal words of Fred Rogers in saying;

7582aea29755e23d47cdc36760f7b8d9.jpg

I am very interested in the Steemit Community and what it can be.

I particularly want to talk to people who are consciously thinking about its direction, and what role users will play pushing against or toward particular currents, but for now that's enough.. time to go listen to some of you lovely people and hearing what you have to say.

Cheers,

Fergal!

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem @emerge-eire I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Welcome and Thank You for being with us!! Following your Blog now

welcome to Steemit Emerge-eire!! Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me at @mekong

i just upvote you now follow me i am also following you dear

Hey @emerge-eire, and welcome to Steemit! Your introduction post is already a great start of your adventure on this platform. Post quality content, interact and connect with other people and I am sure you will see terrific growth.

You are always welcome to reach out to me should you have any questions. I have recently posted a guide on the MinnowSupportProject that could prove very useful for you - it helps beginners gain influence on Steemit with the help of experienced Steemers. Check it out if you'd like, and see you around! Cheers, @Finance2Nomad

That's great, I'll be sure to check it out, thanks!

Hey welcome mate. How u doing today... Big steem ahead lets steemit

I love your city
Very beautiful and lovely
Thanks for sharing this post

welcome here

Congratulations @emerge-eire! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Welcome @emerge-eire to Steemit. great introduction:) you got my follow! hope you will check out my account, too. Please follow me @ngocthuc
Upvote

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 56583.42
ETH 2984.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15