Hello world

Hello!

My name is Emerald and I'm 17 years old. I am a student with a passion programming. I've been active in the cryptocurrency community since around 2013, and I firmly believe that cryptocurrencies and cryptography can truly change the world for better.

My firm belief of why I think cryptocurrency can help many people comes from the reason I got involved in cryptocurrencies.
The younger me had no way of purchasing things on the online world. My parents didn't have a credit card - they simply didn't buy stuff on the internet. Strange, I know, but from what I live, it's not that rare of a sight. So how could I buy stuff? I was only 13 (or was it 14?) back then, and I had lots of Steam games that I wanted to pick up. I started my journey on those Bitcoin-powered auction sites, where I bought games for Bitcoins and felt the power of cryptocurrencies – no age limits, low fees, yet so much more secure. And now here we are – although many would dispute Bitcoin (in its current status)’s role in making an affordable and fast payment platform, I think other coins will fill the many needs of our society.

Sort:  

Hi Emerald! welcome to the community!

Welcome @emeraldhorse - good luck accumulating your STEEM. SK

Welcome to Steemit!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 57810.80
ETH 3056.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.24