Who Am I? Curation + Creation | Elska

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

DSC_8599.jpg

So I finally managed to sit down and write an introduction post (I'll try to keep it short)! If I'm being honest, I'd put it in the mental category of things I want to do, but realistically don't see myself being organised enough to accomplish. But here it is, so even if I fail miserably at consistently posting content, at least I'll always have this...

My names Elska, I'm 18 and spend a lot of time reading, writing and creating various forms of art. I'm currently doing my last year of A-Levels, finishing a year  later than usual due a rather awful year with tonsillitis. I have a mini-dachshund puppy called Moss and spend my weekends at a small pottery studio in Oxford, working, in return for free tuition and studio time. But that was just a small summary so hopefully the rest is a little more illuminating

CURATION

text1.png

DSC_8651.jpg

Which in retrospect is a little sadder than imagined. If you're wondering why? One word... Pinterest. Pinterest was my first introduction to curation of any sort, cultivating a greenhouse of beautiful images and ideas. In my mind its a form of art and I have seen many hours of daylight disappear into it's deep, dark and delightful black hole. Theres something incredibly wonderful about bringing beautiful things together, especially when you feel like they are reaching other people in a positive way.

I haven't been on Steemit for long, I applied for an account just over a month ago and haven't had a chance to really interact with it yet, but hopefully its time for that to change. I don't really have a plan as such but I figured I could tell you what I'm interested in curating and if you think you might like it, we can be friends! Heres a (semi) concise list that by no means covers everything I may repost:

- Fashion + Beauty
- Lifestyle
- Art + Art History
- Anything Animal
- Travel + Adventure
- Generally Interesting, Thought Provoking + Helpful Content

CREATION

text2.png

DSC_8640.jpg

For me writing is something I have always loved to do. I just love words, how they go together and the endless tales that they allow us to share. I don't know where my writing style came from but I have always reminded myself of an old English-man, born and raised on old texts and peculiar prose. Its been a real struggle, dialling back my strange style to make it just about readable, but hopefully the more posts I write, the better I will get at writing for others. The not so obvious point of all that writing: please forgive me for any mistakes or unreadable posts, I promise I'm working on it.

I was thinking about breaking down my content into sections to talk about, but I did promise I'd try to keep this short so I'll give an overview instead. Heres another list, but not so concise...

- Personal Art + Projects
- Travel Guides + Experiences
- Fashion + Style
- Beauty + Health
- My Mini Dachshund (Moss)
- Life + The Everyday
- Cookies + Cocktails
- General Ramblings
- Ever Changing Passions
- Business + Crypto (As I Expand My Knowledge)

But If you want a summary: This is a creative blog, drawing on my varied interests, general sense of style and obsession with the bizarre and beautiful.

DSC_8592.jpg

DSC_8623.jpg

DSC_8617.jpg


TECHNICALITIES

Theres not much to talk about in this section, but I thought I'd include my planned posting days, just to keep myself in check more than anything else. The plan is to post two times a week at least, I can't promise I won't write more, or less... but I'll do my best. As I had this post finished early, I've decided to post it on a Tuesday, therefore the schedule will start this Sunday.

text3.png

The only other thing left to say is that I have absolutely no idea what I'm doing! In an attempt to make a plan I may have made it seem like I've got my shit together, but I can assure that I do not, it is all an illusion. I haven't a clue as to whether or not the steemit community are looking for the content I want to make, but I've figured that if I write what I enjoy reading then perhaps others may like it too. So with that disclaimer of sorts, all thats left to do is invite you to be a part of my first blog and to send you an awful lot of virtual love for getting to the end of this post!

Elska xx


[ Instagram ] [ Pinterest ]


All Images © Elska 2017

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community @elska! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Merry christmas from @stbrians

Welcome to join steemit. 😉
In addition to being a medium that can generate wages, here we can also share stories, life, experiences and other useful things, therefore we must support each other.

Since you just joined the steemit community, it will be difficult to receive many upvotes so you have to be patient with it and not stop to write.
Good luck here and continue to work. thank you

Thank you ☺️ The plan is to just keep writing and sharing love no matter what!

Curation + Creation sounds good - Maybe I have something for you there;)
You know what. I created the account @welcoming two weeks ago, made for curating promising newcomers and resteeming (=sharing) them. That's what just happened with you! Greets ;)

Thank you very much! Really appreciate the resteem! 💛

Cool post, nice photography... but I want to see your puppy!!!

Thank you! I can assure you that he will be the ONLY focus of my next post. He was supposed to be included in this post but due to my terrible timing, I ended up taking the photos on the one day he was staying with a friend. Hopefully i'll have a post about him up before Sunday.

Very Scandi friendly decor, much like my other half's insta. I'm Mr Music, though, what is that vinyl you have there?

I'm half Swedish and spent a lot of time there growing up, I'm definitely inspired by their interior style, so cool that you picked up on that! Your other half's Insta is stunning and those kids are adorable! The record in the photo is Malibu by Anderson .Paak, an old favourite of mine.

You have a unique and interesting style about you and I think you have the potential to stand out! It takes a fair amount of consistency and an equal amount of interaction to rise up... I’m still figuring that part out too. You’ve got this! Just stick with your plan and you’ll do fine :)

Such kind words! Thank you💛 I will try my best, still getting the hang of both things, need to try to get a little more involved with the community now that I've got a plan for content.

Just go lightly on judging yourself and remember that everyone is on the same journey 💜

This is an AWESOME intro post @elska! Thanks for joining Steemit! I am @gogogadgetupvote and I found your intro post thanks to a link that @shai-hulud sent me in my Daily "Introduceyourself Post" Bounty! I have upvoted and resteemed your intro, as well as given you a follow! Be sure to check out my contest post I linked, there are several useful articles linked at the bottom for new users!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58999.04
ETH 2518.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46