A Brief Breakdown of Ella - AKA an Introduction

Writing about myself always makes me uncomfortable, I write all day for a living and seem to have no problem churning out articles, but for some reason a short story about my life makes me clam up...anyway, here goes nothing.

The Background

I was born in England, in a city in the southwest called Plymouth. It's where the pilgrims set sail from when they left for the United States, the Mayflower steps are one of Plymouths most popular tourist attractions. Apart from that its a pretty grey coastal town with not too much else to offer.

The First Big Move

When I was 4 years old my parents won American green cards in a green card lottery, yes its a real thing, and they moved us (mom, dad, big sister and me) to a quiet city in Southern California called Laguna Beach. At the time Laguna Beach was a small beautiful, hippy, artsy fartsy, town. It was later destroyed by an MTV reality TV show called "Laguna Beach, The Real OC". If you haven't seen it don’t bother.
For the next 20 years we lived happily ever after in Orange County, California. I went to school in Laguna Beach, all my friends were in Laguna Beach, my first job was in Laguna Beach....it was home.
But you know when people say they don’t fit in, and you're like thats such a cliche, and they're like no its true!
I finally get those people. I made myself fit in, I told myself that I would be happy working towards a decent career, making lots of money, working to buy a new car or a better phone or to upgrade something else I didn't need. I told myself I loved being so self conscious about my body and my looks, I loved spending hundreds to look like all the other California girls....Turns out I didn't like much of it at all

The Realization

Somewhere between a breakup and a career move gone wrong I realized that I was horribly unhappy in Southern California, the only thing I loved about it was the Mexican food (for the record I still miss Mexican food on a daily basis) I knew I wanted a change, I knew that I needed to make myself happy and find what made my life mine and what made it enjoyable to me.

When I was 23 I had traveled around Europe for 6 weeks on my own. It was such an eye opening experience for me, something I will never forget and will cherish forever. It was on that trip that I realized that I needed to leave Orange County and it was also on that trip that I started to gain some confidence in myself and discover who I was on my own, without my family or a boyfriend around to influence me. So I went back to California and I started planning my escape.

The Second Big Move

After my trip I went back to California and began to make the changes to leave behind Orange County for good. I got a job, one that I knew I'd have no problem leaving. I rented a cheap apartment and started selling or getting rid of all the things I didn't need. I saved every penny I could, and then when I couldn't put up with it anymore I quit my job and bought a ticket. I moved to Barcelona with enough savings to last 3 months. I knew no one here, I had no place to stay and I had no set source of income. And somehow it all worked out. Within those three months I found a job, got a room to rent, and met some of the most amazing people I've ever known.

The Present

I still life in Barcelona, I have been here 2 years now. I work freelance, I write articles all day everyday, but never about myself or for myself. I write copy for various websites and companies all around the world. Its a fascinating job, and it allows me to travel and work from home and to live the life I’ve always dreamed of. So basically it's awesome. I have a great circle of friends, an adorable puppy, and the freedom to travel, what more could I ask for?
I found my true happiness, I found a place where I fit in, where I can be my true self and where I thrive.

We'll see what happens next

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit!
I am a bot built for the purposes of welcoming new users! You are receiving this message as you have used the #introduceyourself tag! I know that steemit may seem very overwhelming to you right now but don't worry. There's a learning curve to everything so just be patient and you'll be churning out posts and becoming a part of something great in no time!

Also if there are any questions that you may have, then just ask your questions on any of my blog posts and I'll be more than happy to assist you with whatever questions you may have! I will also be creating a basic starting out guide for all minnows and newcomers on my blog so do give it a read as that might help answer many of your questions!

Have fun and I wish you LOADS of success on here! :)

Also. you can call upon originalworks whenever something you post is your own content like this: @originalworks

Regards
@welcome-to-steem

Welcome to the Steemit Community. Enjoy your stay :)

That is one amazing story, I loved it, allow me to resteem and give you a small token of my appreciation with a bid bot upvote and of course my own upvote. Welcome to steemit.

A warm welcome to Steemit!

This is a great community to learn and explore. I hope you have a great time here.
I have upvoted you, Follow me here @puneetgamer and I will follow you back.

Wish you all the best!

welcome to steemit community @ellagemmell

Hopefully you can share good contain for every steemit user.


Welcome to Steemit @ellagemmell!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit be truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Welcome to this great community of friends, I would like to invite this community, where you will learn to grow with classes of Leadership, art, poetry and business. If you are interested enter with these links: https://discord.gg/hrjxG4G
Hola quisiera invitarte a esta comunidad, donde aprenderás a crecer con clases de Liderazgo, arte, poesías y negocios. Si te interesa ingresa con este links: https://discord.gg/hrjxG4G
https://steemit.com/steemschools/@nellita66/bienvenidos-todos-los-nuevos-al-gran-concurso-de-invitacion-de-dobartim

Welcome to Steemit! :) Youve had quite the journey to get to where you are today. Thank god for those eye openers that force you to see that you need a change! California has some absolute beauty in it but I agree that it is filled with superficial people. I happened to meet my husband on a trip there to visit my grandfather. He lived in Oceanside his whole life and got to see first hand how much change went on. Its sad really. We just got back from a visit to see his daughter and son who still live there. Its crazy, how in just 3 years (the last time we visited), it has changed to much.

Ive heard so many wonderful things about Barcelona and hope that one day I will be able to visit. Would love to see some photography of the area!

Anyways, welcome again! :)

You got a 23.44% upvote from @brupvoter courtesy of @deliberator!

It is a amazing story . It may be the second part of your previous post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 68029.30
ETH 3272.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64