Hi Steemit Community! Wanna know what it is to learn medicine in a humanitarian crisis? Take a look

My name is Elias Chacin and I'm a Medicine student trying to learn and practice medicine in a country without medicines. It sounds weird, right?
I live in Venezuela, a South American country, that right now is in the middle of the worst political and economical crisis in the history of the country. There is an 80% of deficit in medicine supply, the inflation rate was over 700% only this year, there are around 20.000 violent deaths each year and this is just a poor introduction to this chaos.

My plan is to share with you my experience in this chaos, I'll try to explain with words what its like to tell a mother that in the biggest hospital of the state we have no medicines for her epileptic children; what you feel after seeing, in one night, seven patients die because they have months without medicines; what it is like to have a gun pointed at your head because a criminal wants you to save his partner from dying after receiving 7 gun shots, and be threatened to receive way more than seven if the patient dies.

Altought, you can always look for the bright side of the crisis, and that is what I'm trying to do. Living in a super violent country, studying in a public hospital and loving traumatology is a great combination, the amount of patients I attent every day is huge, and our laws and education system allows me to do lots of small (and not-so-small) procedures that I will, in time, show you.

Sutura 2.jpg

I hope you all enjoy my post and if you have any doubts of the situation in my country I will gladly explain to you.
See you in the next post.

Sort:  

Hi

Welcome to steemit. This is an amazing place with awesome content. Look forward to seeing some of your posts. Come and have a look at @yoda1917 I am sure you will find something there interesting and I give my best to help the new people :)

Regards

Yoda

P.S, here is an example of my work.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@yoda1917/and-the-steem-comes-tumbling-down-time-to-sit-tight

Welcome to Steem @eliaschacint I have upvoted and sent you a tip

welcome to steemit eliasacint, I can't imagine what your going through right now. keep up the amazing work I look forward to reading more about your work. stay safe.

welcome here Eliaschacint! Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me...

Nice to meet you Eliaschacint ! Welcome to the steemit community from @bwin !

Hello @eliaschacint. Welcome to Steemit. I am David. I wish you have a happy journey here.

Welcome to Steemit, I just shared your posting so perhaps others will follow along on your journey with you. What kinds of natural herbs/plants do you have available to use to assist with medicine?

First of all: welcome to Steemit @eliaschacint!
I really hope you will find this community welcoming and please feel free to ask about anything! It can be a bit overwhelming in the beginning..

Secondly; I find your post very interesting and I will for sure follow you and learn about the situation you find yourself in. It sound quite challenging and I admire your attitude a lot!

I´m resteeming your post to my followers and hope you will receive some new followers and upvotes.

Looking forward to seeing more from you!

Peace, Peter

Welcome to Steemit @eliaschacint!
I'm a bot-helper, and I'm created to help. Congratulations on the registration on Steem - you really like it here! If you like me, make an upvote of my comment and follow me. Your upvote will allow you to give more money to new users, such as you. Let's make Steem better together!
I follow you, and to get more upvote and resteem - follow me!
All the money I earn will be donated to charity.
Steem on!

Nice, a new Steemian, more or less ^^ Hi @Eliaschacint I hope you have fun at this place. don't hesitate to contact or follow me at any time :-) Greetings @chrisx

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66438.74
ETH 3268.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.39