Hey there! I'm Ed. Do you like sushi and japanese food? I think we will have a great time.

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

I'm 23 years old, Venezuelan, sushi chef with 7 years of experience, living in Bogota, Colombia (Yes, I am a citizen more that run away from his country because of the harsh political situation).

I started in the kitchen when I was 16 year old -after graduating from high school- as an assistant in a Japanese restaurant. My bosses, realized my desire to learn and became my teachers. To this day I am very grateful for everything they taught me.

Me and my boss, November 2010. El Tigre, Venezuela.

My boss.jpg

This is a picture of my first rolls.

Primer Roll.jpg

Yes I know. It is not very pretty...

Then I decided to continue exploring, continue learning and I worked in several states of the country, until I collected money and started my own business. That's when, at 18 years old, I opened the doors of my first restaurant. (Actually, it was not a big deal, but for me it was a great experience)

Kuen Sushi.
Kuen sushi.jpg
yo en kuen.jpg

For people who do not know much about the subject, in Venezuela the economic situation is disgusting. And so that the explanation does not go far, just say that to maintain a sushi business, you must have a lot of money to bring the products to the country, because in conventional stores, they do not exist, they are always scarce.

For that reason, my restaurant had to close. :c

I sold all my things, and decided to study Modern Languages ​​at the "Universidad de Margarita" and paid my expenses working on what I would do best, sushi. On the Isla de Margarita, I met spectacular people with ten, twelve and even fifteen years of experience with Japanese food. That's why I will always say, that all the great things I learned, was in that beautiful Island.

Here the thing is already improving...
December 2014.

En margarita.jpg

As the economic situation of my country worsened, I had to leave the university and go back to my village with my current wife. To literally survive. Although my salary, in comparison to the minimum salary, was very good, it was not enough for anything. Then a friend offered me a very good job where they were going to pay me in dollars, I collected a prudent amount of money and in May of 2017 I emigrated to Bogota, Colombia.

Being in a country, where your salary reaches you for all your basic needs, those of your wife and your son, is beautiful.
Politics is not mine, nor do I try to enter into controversy. I hope you understand what I mean.

I am currently working in the G Zone of Bogotá. A beautiful place where you can definitely have a nice time. The place where I work is called: Sumo Sushi. If there is someone who wants to visit me, he is welcome.

That's how my rolls look today.
Prawn Special.
Prawn Special.jpg

Caribeño
Caribeño Roll.jpg

Tuna Sashimi
Tuna Sashimi.jpg

Some Boat.
Boat.jpg

Thank you very much for reading my first post. If you liked it, follow me.

By the way, my instagram user is: edsushi.

That's it, bye!!!!!!!

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community @edsushi! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Damn it, I am hungry now :( JK, love those pictures! Think about recording a video of making those and posting it on @dtube! My support would be there for sure, greets, @theaustrianguy!

Welcome to the steemit family @edsushi.. 😉
In addition to being a medium that can generate wages, here we share stories, life, experiences and other useful things, therefore we must support each other.

Since you just joined the steemit community, it will be difficult to receive many upvotes so you have to be patient with it but never stop writing good, quality and original content..
.
Good luck here and continue to work. Thank you.. Feel free to follow me @kekegist .. Cheers ☺..

Thank you very much, I appreciate that!!!

Loading...

I am happy to join a member of Steam and I am sure you will be working on this site and welcome to this site
Welcome to Steem @dylanstone . Feel free to follow me @dylanstone and upvote. Cheers :)

It is not very pretty...

Sushi is like art, beauty is in the eye of the beholder. I thought it looked pretty tasty! ;+)

18 years old, I opened the doors of my first restaurant.

You’ve accomplished more in your few years, than many do in a lifetime.

to maintain a sushi business, you must have a lot of money

That sounds a lot like the U.S…lots of money and regulations…

Thanks for this wonderful post! You have exquisite talent; and, that last plate has me wanting to bring out my sushi ‘rolling mat’. ;+)

In the U.S., one would pay a very pretty penny for something as delightful as the last few 'plates' on display.

Thanks for sharing your story.

Best regards!

Peace.

Thanks u so much. Really thank you for your words. Words like yours are the ones that make me keep going in search of achieving all my dreams.

Praises to the Lord! ✌!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56800.55
ETH 2331.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34