Cooking at home to save money for retirement and travel (and because it tastes better!)

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

My name's Ed, but for over 20 years I've gone by Edly online. I tell people the “ly” is silent.
IMG_2154-Cropped.JPG
That's my wife next to me. She's from The Philippines. We met in Hong Kong. That's another story.
I'm a happily married father of three, who I've watched growing up while working at one of the biggest movie theaters in the country. If you live in the Bay Area there's a good chance you've seen me there.
A lot of my interests are more creative: Drawing, animation, sculpting, and especially cooking. But I also love to travel, usually around North America due to travel costs.
And I'm a bit stingy. I like to keep costs as low as possible.
Combining my interests is how I can help you.
Here's an example: Do you know how much you spend on fast food? I mean, on an annual basis?
If you get a simple Big Mac meal at McDonald's in California, you're spending about $7.
Big Mac Meal.jpg
If you thought I was joking, no, I rounded down.
For a 6” sub meal at Subway, it's about $8. If you have to drive a mile to get that meal, add in $1 for the mileage (IRS Mileage rate for 2017 is $0.53/mile, so I rounded down again.) So, each time you go out to get lunch it costs at least $8. If you do that just once per week over a year, that's $400. If you do that daily, it's $2000 annually (5 days per week, 50 weeks per year.)
If you have leftovers just one more time per week, and put the savings toward your mortgage, (assuming you have a mortgage of $500,000 for 30 years at 3.7% and put your lunch savings toward the principle every month from inception) then you will pay off your mortgage 9 months sooner, and save $9,565 in interest. If you skip that $8 per day lunch cost by taking your lunch every day, and put the savings toward your mortgage, you could end up paying off your mortgage 3 years and 5 months early for a savings of over $43,000. And that's just by taking lunch to work instead of eating out!
That's for one person. What if you have two people working, and taking lunch instead? On the low end, each taking lunch once per week, you pay off your mortgage a year and a half early, and save almost $19,000, and on the high-end, you pay off your mortgage...Jeez!...6 years and 2 months early, saving over $75,500!
Or you could put that money into your retirement through an IRA or your 401(k) plan or just have a better vacation each year. Think about the possibilities!
Now, what if you don't know how to cook? That's where I come in. I like to cook, I like to experiment, and I like to teach. I have a lot of recipes, cooking tips, and techniques I've come up with to make cooking simpler, and to save time and money. I'd like to share that information with you here.
At least that's my plan, and you know what they say about plans. I'm always flexible, and I look forward to learning at least as much as I try to teach on the Steemit platform.

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community @edly! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Hi Ed with the silent "ly" :-), Welcome to steem! You have joined a truly awesome community!

Some tips... Only post good quality content and follow people you have something in common with.

Try to avoid the tonnes of garbage out there like... follow me and I'll follow you nonsense. Just be yourself and you'll be OK!

Enjoy your experience! It's gonna be an awesome ride....

Hello back atcha

Welcome to Steem! Really liked the intro, always great to have more great people on the platform. Look forward to more posts from you!

Welcome to Steemit and can't wait to read some of your posts about cooking! I'm always looking for new easy recipees to try.

Welcome to the party! Let us see what you can do!

Congratulations @edly! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57517.13
ETH 3013.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35