Hello Steemit! I made it!

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

My name is Erik and I'm very excited to be here.

I'm a recent college graduate from Bates College. It's a little weird being in the "real world" now, but I hope I'll get used to it. 19021275_10212019864985409_88527107_n.jpg

I majored in math and physics not because they were necessarily fun, but because they were the only subjects I was kind of decent at. Not to say math isn't fun, I enjoy doing math for fun on occasion (yea, I'm a nerd, you'll find out quickly). I was planning on attending medical school after college, but I really got into my math and physics thesis, so I decided I wanted to pursue a career in math for now. Maybe I'll get back into medicine someday, more on that in the future.

Consequently, I accepted a job writing programs that are based off my thesis. Long story short, my thesis was able to predict the behavior of chaotic systems using empirical dynamic modeling. Maybe I'll write a post about it soon. I'm new to this community and I'm really not sure what sort of stuff I want to post: mathy, gamer stuff, musical stuff, sports stuff, maybe even unicycling stuff (yes I ride a unicycle). 942389_10200589084823049_1724066723_n.jpg

Besides math and physics, at bates I was a member of the orchestra (cello), a varsity swimmer (freshman and senior year oddly enough), president of the FatCats Competitive Eating Club (I like to eat), and hardcore gamer. I'm sure I'll have plenty to say about all of those hobbies, some more than others. Needless to say, I'm excited to be a part of this awesome community!

Sort:  

Welcome to STEEMIT, Erik! You got my attention at "predict the behavior of chaotic systems using empirical dynamic modeling". The cool unicycle moves were just icing on the cake! lol

Hey mate! Welcome!

Thank you!

Welcome to the platform, I wish everything work out for you. It’s not easy here but not difficult neither but just ask an extra effort, engagement is the key good luck I’m @goodaytraders Start by following people and they will do the same.

Welcome to the Steemit community Erik. Great to have you around. I hope you will enjoy it as much as I do!. :-)

Welcome Erik and congrats on the big finish!

Thank you! :)

Hi Erik ! Nice Introduction !!
Warm welcome to the steemians World !

welcome with thums up.png

Welcome to Steem @e-saber I have sent you a tip

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60696.93
ETH 2638.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61