Hello Steemit I am @dwells. This is my introduction post, And 300 followers milestone post in one.

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

DQmTdnZYrnB9WwmBZ6nzkaBmdU3ka2zhrV47xXoVxqqiYbZ_1680x8400.jpg

Crazy Driver

So I am not exactly new to steemit. I have been here since early June of 2017. I know your supposed to do your introduce your self post when you first join, that way people know you on here, who you are, and what you are about. From that they can decide to follow your or not. I thought about that and to me that seemed like a lot to ask of others, to determine if I am somebody they want to follow by just 1 post. So I decided to wait on doing my introduce yourself post until I had produced some content for which people can base their decision off of.

Life happens and time got away from me and now its January 1 of 2018 and I am finally writing my Introduction post.

Yesterday I broke the 300 followers milestone, so that prompted me to get my butt in gear and finally write this post. Most of the time I use my cellphone when I'm on steemit, but a post like this is rather difficult to write on a phone so I dug out my laptop to write this. After a 2.5 hour long windows 10 update I am finally sitting down to write this post, hoping to get it down before my wife @essentialoilmom has dinner on the table.fce28478-8357-403d-bd2b-7356353e7825.jpg

Lets start at the beginning

I first heard about steemit from my buddy Zac from @mericanhomestead
DQmcNKTmk2h16CpCEXZsh1WFxuDuCJuPofs1RqxgPojDRJw_1680x8400.jpg

My very first post was very simple, it was a pic of my dinner plate and a couple sentences about it. You can see it here.
https://steemit.com/keto/@dwells/keto-dinner

My family had just started on the Keto diet so that was something that was new to me so I thought I would write about it.

Winning a @papa-pepper Photo Contest

The next big thing for me was winning Season 6 of @papa-pepper's WildNStrange contest. I won with this pic right here.
DQmRwWHTWjzfwA1crDRmg4LY2JS6haKEoqvotyASxxoF39W.jpg

You can read all about it in this post that I wrote here.
https://steemit.com/papa-pepper/@dwells/winning-a-papa-pepper-photo-contest-pics-inside
The prize for the contest was 50 Steem. At the time Steem was valued at around 1.60 USD, so that was just over $80USD that I won just for posting a picture on social media.

We actually live not to far from @papa-pepper so we invited him and @mama-pepper and the @little-peppers to come to our place for dinner. While they were here @papa-pepper asked me if he could do an interview with me to discuss winning the contest and what I did with the 50 steem that I won. Here is that video

The Birth of The Steem-Pocalypse Show


DQmU8PTxSAofeW6akuBkscPcW7AHos9ZDV1AXDViMpi5CDL.jpg
banner made by @surprisebit

Now not to long after this @papa-pepper kicked off Season 5 of his Steem-Pocalypse Survival Game Contest. @essentialoilmom and I both signed up to play and the first day we were discussing the options for the game and our strategy of how to play the game, I had the Amazing idea of recording our discussions and posting them for others in the game to maybe help them along as well. If I did things correctly, this link should be to a playlist of all 44 videos of The Steem-Pocalypse Show.

There is alot of content there, and we even had some bloopers as well. If you want to see some of the best I suggest the watching Episode 19 here followed by Bloopers 1 ,2, and 3. While you are there check out episode 20 where a very special guest showed up right in the middle of the show, and finally Episode 7 of Season 6 of Steem-Pocalypse Herealong with this Blooper We had alot of fun make all these episodes with @jwalker, @beardo, @jeejee, and I want to thank @sireland, @ironshield, and @lturner for being special remote guests on the show in our second season. I ended up making it to 7th place that season.

After the lights go down

After we all died off in season 7 of Steem-Pocalypse the frequency at which I posted on steemit slowed way down. You see I am a truck driver by trade. I have had my CDL for almost 13 years now and I have been driving truck for 11 of those 13 years through most all of the midwest. I've drove truck in every state east of the Rockies and West of Vermont with the exception of New Jersey. Currently I drive locally for the nations largest waste hauler, so I get to be home every night with my family but I work long days. I get up at 2:45 am to be to work by 4 am and i usually work a 12 to 14 hour shift and then drive home. It really doesn't leave alot of time to sit down and create quality content. My work performance suffered while we were doing the Steem-Pocalypse shows each night because most nights I was lucky to get 4 hours of sleep.

A Surprise in the Mail from a fellow steamian and a RLF


The next big thing that happened was getting a surprise package in the mail from @ironshield. Check out the post and video here. https://steemit.com/steemsilvergold/@dwells/unboxing-of-surprise-package-in-the-mail
I'll give you a hint, there was something shiny inside and it had the Steem logo on it.

Another visit by the Most Interesting Man on Steemit


So not to long ago @papa-pepper and family came over for another visit and I took part in his 5 Questions with Papa-Pepper Challenge. You can check out the video and his post about it at this link. https://steemit.com/game/@papa-pepper/5-questions-with-papa-pepper-3rd-contestant-dwells
There is even a link on there for the tribute song performed by @birdistheword that was wrote about me from Season 6 of the WildnStrange contest.

I'll stop with the recap of my time on steemit there. The rest of my posts are recent enough that you wont have to scroll far to see them.

So....who am I?


Who am I? What kind of person am I? What am I about?

Well as I said I am a truck driver by trade. I am a Husband (11.5 years now), a father (of 8 years, man they grow up fast). I am a man of faith and I love to share about my faith with others. I believe in the God of Abraham, Isaace, and Jacob, but I neither follow, Judaism or Christianity. I grew up in the christian church from the age of 5 but my faith was radically changed in 2014 when my eyes were opened to the Truth in God's word. Since then I have not attended Sunday church as I used to, nor do I Identify as a christian. I am a Hebrew and I walk in The Way (see Acts 22 and Acts 24 in The Bible).

I also love to make people laugh. Everybody feels better when they laugh.

Lets see what else. I am what some would call a conspiracy theorist(go ahead, ask me about 9/11, Vaccines, and Sandy Hook),
I am a truth seeker(the truth will set you free), and I am also a biblical flat-earther (say what!!). Yes, I said flat earth. I have been watching and studying the research of others for almost 3 years now.
I like technology and I have a knack for picking up on it rather quickly.
I care about people and I have strong opinions about things and I have no problem sharing my opinions with others which sometimes gets me in trouble because people don't always like to hear what I have to say.
I sometimes come off as being a jerk because I can be pretty stubborn and I generally don't know when to quit and my delivery of the information I am trying to share with someone is usually in a straight forward factual approach.
I am the type of person that will drop whatever I'm doing to help a complete stranger if they need help and I am the kind of person that will stand up for the under dog when they are being attacked.
I grew up as the chubby christian kid in the american public school system so I know all to well what its like to be bullied so that is why I will stand up for those who are being bullied, pushed around and attacked by others.

Well that about sums up who I am. I hope you all have enjoyed this post and I am sorry I waited 6 months before doing my introduction post.

In case you were wondering I didn't get this post done before dinner.

Edit: I forgot to mention I also took part in the selfie contest that @papa-pepper ran and I believe I made it to day 52 and I also won the WildnStrange contest again more recently with a pic from this gif.

20171119_175416-ANIMATION.gif

Sort:  

That perfectly describes my thoughts on how I came up with what eventually became known as "The Ninja of Steem."

Glad your back :D

Thanks @surprisebit. I'm working toward a career change this year so if/when @papa-pepper kicks off Steem-pocalypse again I'll be ready to resume the show, hopefully with some better audio and video equipment.

Spent many a day as a youth working on back of a garbage truck. Fun times.

Glad to see that you did get it posted!

You may not be new to steemit, but you’re new to someone, so the timing of this post works! Glad to get to know you after all the interaction :)

Same here @hebrewhousewife. I hope we can meet in real life some day and I can shake the hand of The Big Man.

Hey man nice to meet you. Seems like you have made your self at home already. Definitely will be following so let's go, 2018 cheers crypto fam

This is the post we've all been waiting for! @dwells is in the house! RESTEEMED! @ironshield


My favorite photo.

Thanks @ironshield. Did you ever read the Calvin and Hobbes comics? With you cropping my picture like that my face kind of reminds me of one of those comic strips.

lol, you are crazy bro. :D Keep it up! Photo 1 = winner.

Thank you @cryptorep. When I hit 200 followers I intended to do my introduction post then and I ran a post asking my current followers to pick from a selection of pictures on which one they thought would be the best title picture to catch people's eye and crazy driver was the winner, so I had to use that as my title picture and I agree I think it is a pretty good picture.

Well new or not great introduction! Happy New years

Thanks @chris-p-bacon! Same to you.

Be careful with that thing you will poke someones eye out

Thank you @capitold. I will do my best to make sure everyone's optical organs stay where they belong.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63463.10
ETH 3243.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.45