Hello world. Long-form content refugee from LinkedIn.

in #introduceyourself6 years ago

steemit-intro small.png

Hey guys and gals, my name is Aki Ranin. I like to think of myself as a sort of poor man's Elon Musk. Trying to make a dent, however infinitesimal, on the future of humanity by working on problems I find interesting enough to obsess about.

Currently working on two startups in Singapore. Because tax & weather. Missionready to solve health & fitness using technology, Bambu to solve saving and investing using technology. I believe technology can solve any problem, and that A.I. can make increase the power of most technologies by orders of magnitude.

Why I'm here

I've been writing on LinkedIn the past few years as a highly enjoyable creative outlet for all the ideas I find interesting, if not original. I've found writing to be a great way to deepen my understanding on any given subject, since writing is a form of teaching. You can only teach something you can explain. So it comes full circle.

The reason I'm now on Steemit, is that I'm seeking a new home for my take on long-form content. LinkedIn is doing it's thing, which seems to change frequently, and clearly isn't long-form community content. I've taken a close look at Medium too, but I find the future-forward concept of Steemit difficult to resist.

I'm not that interested in the commercial aspect of my writing, but more in the creative process itself around topics that interest me. The inherent nerditude of Steemit is appealing to me. Going from writing in pre-formatted HTML within a browser window to hacking together my own open-source Atom editor setup. Oh yes.

I have a feeling this could be a good match. I haven't been high on blockchain up to this point, but the use-case for controlling your own content makes immediate sense to me.

What to expect from me

If you like reading about geeky topics synthesizing technology with sarcastic humor, you've come to the right place my friend. I have a rolling list of around 100 writing ideas, which I slowly develop. Some will die off, some will end up here. Most ideas come from a combination of reading books and listening to podcasts. And just thinking about stuff.

Topics I focus on

  1. Artificial Intelligence, particularly advances from narrow to general intelligence. No, an A.I. didn't generate this post. Unless this is a simulation.
  2. Space, mainly relating to space exploration and multi-planetary life. Saving for a family ticket to Mars.
  3. History, specifically the transformative periods such as emergence and destruction of great civilizations. Swords are a plus.
  4. The future of humanity, as it relates to the above.
  5. Startups, as a means to achieve the above.
  6. Odds and ends, like trading technicals and human longevity.

List of defining principles

  • Interesting ideas > What most people care about
  • Original > Different > Iterative > Derivative
  • Value > Ambition > Instant gratification
  • Long-term vision > Short-term optimization
  • Startup > Non-profit > Corporate > Government
  • Investing > Saving > Trading > Hope > Pension
  • Wikipedia > Blogs > Twitter > ... > News
  • Thinking > Doing > Talking
  • Future > Past > Present
  • Comment > Share > Like
  • Star Wars > Star Trek

Other places you can find me

I'm usually pretty active on LinkedIn on a daily basis, in case you want to get in touch.

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit!
I am a bot built for the purposes of welcoming new users! I know that steemit may seem very overwhelming to you right now but don't worry. There's a learning curve to everything so just be patient and you'll be churning out posts and becoming a part of something great in no time!

Also if there are any questions that you may have, then just ask your questions on any of my blog posts and I'll be more than happy to assist you with whatever questions you may have! I will also be creating a basic starting out guide for all minnows and newcomers on my blog so do give it a read as that might help answer many of your questions!

Have fun and I wish you LOADS of success on here! :)

Also. you can call upon originalworks whenever something you post is your own content like this: @originalworks

Regards
@welcome-to-steem

Is this a Turing test? Are you testing me, or am I testing you?

Hey man, welcome to Steemit! If you've got any questions about getting started just let me know and I'll try my best to answer them for you.

Well I idolize Elon Musk... and I too am pretty broke so you sound like my kind of guy hahaha.

Feel free to check out my blog if you like, I cover things like cryptocurrencies, making money online and gaming.

All the best :)

@nathan290595

EDIT: By the way... you can do this [insert text here](insert link here) to make your links look nicer as an extra tip! So for example... Google

That's awesome, a kindred spirit on the first comment! Really appreciate you taking the time to welcome me Nathan.

Welcome to steemit! This is a wonderful platform with great people and communities! I followed you and look forward to your posts! Don't forget to check out the other aspects of the Steem Blockchain as well; DTube, Steepshot, DLive, Zappl and DMania. Be active and have fun! Cheers @stwbll

Very cool man, thanks for the warm welcome! My first follower too, what an honor. Already have a doozy of a first post lined up...

Awesome! Can't wait to read it!

Welcome ! i hope everything good for you !

Thanks for the kind words!

Welcome to [email protected] my pleasure to see you here.steemit is a very good community here you will enjoy a lot.best of luck for future help and upvotes please follow me.

Much appreciated, hope to make the most of it!

Hi @dullboy,
Your work doesn't seem dull at all. I see that you are currently based and working in Singapore. We have a small community coming up for singaporean/expats/residents. Would love to see you join in.

Haha, yes that's a reference to the proverb "all work and no play makes Jack a dull boy".

Welcome!

What editor is that?

Never mind - I can see that's Atom with some hacks?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64507.66
ETH 3080.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85