Hey Steemit! Amy here >> Seattle/Bay Area - Traveler - Environmentalist - Humorous Person - Embracing the Typos in Life <<

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

This is my first post here on Steemit!

Verification photo:

Starting off on the right foot with a typo in my username (it's supposed to be drhershel, like my username on other blogging sites). Pushing past feeling silly to pure acceptance that my name now sounds like someone vomiting! Yay!

I'm very excited to be here amongst all you cool folks. This seems like an amazing place for self growth and development, and a wonderful resource for those who require alternative monetary streams ( aka me).

I discovered this internet community a month before I embark on a trip to Germany to get certified to teach English abroad. I plan to document the build-up to my trip, the experiences I have traveling there, and plenty of other fun topics including: feminism, mental health (anxiety, depression, destigmatization, etc), sexuality, outdoor adventures (backpacking, rock climbing, kayaking, and hiking), animals, vegetarianism, and funny observations of the world around us.

Some Stuff

I am a 20-something in the midst of some big life decisions.. and the avoidance strategies that come with these decisions. I grew up in Marin County, CA and moved to Seattle in 2010 to attend the University of Washington where I studied environmental studies and human rights. I love the thrill of traveling, especially solo, as it roots me in the present and distracts me from the underlying (and sometimes crippling) anxiety that I feel on a day-to-day basis. Since graduating, I've spent time all over the country and the world, working on and off and trying to find a place I feel like staying for more than 6 months.

Spoiler alert - I'm still searching.

A List of Things I Love

  • Reading
    • Kurt Vonnegut, Eckhart Tolle, Cheryl Strayed, Aldous Huxley...
    • Currently reading: Valley Walls by Glen Denny
  • Writing
    • Blogging for other's consumption, but mainly journaling as a form of therapy
  • Laughing
  • Taking pictures
    • Sometimes I capture some pretty amazing things!
  • Dogs/most animals. Still working on training myself to like bugs. Little progress has been made.
  • Being outside
    • Furiously battling the indoor addiction that is smartphones/the internet/social media

Some Random Facts

  • I have been to 5 continents and 16 countries
    • Highlights: New Zealand, Thailand, + Israel
  • I co-authored a book as part of a study abroad program in India
  • My mother is from Ireland, and I am lucky enough to have dual-citizenship
  • I was an award winning fake lawyer in high school and college

Hope you enjoyed my post!

Sort:  

welcome @drhechel !! May your days of Steemit bring you health, wealth and happiness !! ; - )

Thank you! Much appreciated :)

Are you unsure of your place in the world ?

Not sure what everything is really all about ?

Need somewhere to relax and reflect ?

A place to consider the significant of your worth in the modern world ?

Such a place exists; in fact it is possibly the best kept secret for young people trying to find themselves : )

/ hugz ; )

I will give you the answer as long as you promise to at least investigate if what I say is true; since i never lie, of course what I say is true !

The only other "fact " you need to know is just one thing, once I thought I was wrong, but it turned out I was just mistaken . . .

Welcome aboard may you enjoy your Steemit journey toward self enlightenment : )

/ hugz ; )

Thanks so much! Still learning the ins and outs, but definitely excited!

Welcome aboard, look forward to you stories

Thank you! Looking forward to writing them :)

What do you call a bear with no teeth? -A gummy bear.

There are three things which the superior man guards against. In youth...lust. When he is strong...quarrelsomeness. When he is old...covetousness.

Hi Amy, and welcome to Steemit! If you don't mind, could you please add a picture of yourself with a Steemit sign and your username? We have had some identity theft on the platform, so it helps to verify your account with a picture. It will probably earn you a few more upvotes too :)

Absolutely! Is there a way to do that in the original post, or should I do that in a comment?

You can directly edit your post above :)

Sweet! All set, thanks for the pointer!

Thanks and upvoted!

Welcome. Is that a piece of watermelon the elephant is so happy to be getting?

Haha yes it is! They had already had lunch apparently, so that was their dessert! Elephants were a bit more intimidating than I thought they would be, especially that close.

Welcome! Did you fall in love with Seattle and are you staying?

Thank you! I've been going back and forth for a bit between the Bay and Seattle, but I did fall in love with it :) Not sure where I'll end up...

Hi! Another newbie here 😊

Noobs for lyfe! Welcome! Hope you have a great experience on here :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61563.75
ETH 2648.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46