I thought I would... but i did't

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

Thought I would start by introducing myself with this story and a few pictures, I will put up a full introduction later.
The arrival at the start of what was going to be the most exiting hike ever... little did i know...

What we call the walking dead


After waking up at 2 am to arrive at our destination(finally) the look in everyone's eyes was priceless(as usual). We geared up and off we went on our adventure.

Day 1


I was so excited couldn't wait to get started, had been "training" for weeks now. Day one was supposed to be a gentle gradient to the top and boy that was a lie. Every step up that slope was agony out of breath we all pushed on. We stopped half way up the slope for 5 minutes just to drink some game and eat an energy bar..... my first mistake, note: never leave your snacks at the bottom of your hiking bag. I didn't eat anything or drink game because it was all the way down in my back pack. By the time i reached the top of the slope. My muscles were starved from energy and began to cramp up with every step and we still had to hike another 10km to the camping site... my hell had just started... 2km from the camping site with the tent in my view both myself and my cousin had given up, we sat their frustrated, irritated, really tired and sore.

Day 2


After much debate between everyone a hand full of us had decided to attempt the hike towards the summit with only a the meal for lunch and dinner. Thus making it easier for those that went. I myself stayed behind looking after the tents and the rest of or belongings.

They brought back many amazing pictures form the summit as well as this one just to shock my mom to death(after so many years you would think that she would be used to it by now). It started to get really cold that day and the evening was even worse

Day 3


As I had expected they all got extremely cold. I was feeling better this day after having a good rest and putting my snack pack at the top of my back pack. They got down to the camp as i finished packing everything up so I got a head start towards the next camping site. This one was at leas only 11km away and had no slopes at all... didn't make much difference though as they already had hiked down form the summit that morning.

We got to the camping area and just sat under the trees for a few hours before we put up the tents.

Day 4


Woke up to an amazing sunrise and a lot of wind. We had planned on leaving the camp earlier that morning so we could be back home before dark as it was a 4km hike down towards the cars. On my way down we found a guy jogging up towards us... I hated him immediately as he just jogged up the slope that I had nearly died climbing up on day one. We got to the car park around 8am and got into the showers, the hot water felt so welcoming. To end this story I just want to say, I will never forget that hike, we found so many animals as well as the animals we already knew about(my brothers and cousins). I highly recommend this hike to all the scenery is out of this world.
*Grey's Pass, Drakensberg, South Africa

#photography

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit and thanks for sharing the story of your adventure which I'm sure you will never forget!

Thank you and i will definitely post more

Awesome story!...However I would probably die in all honesty. Ahaha welcome! :)

Edit: Walking is not my forte

I really did think I was going to die. Wanted to get air lifted out of there :D

Welcome on steemit, the way you writing is so beautiful, and engaging. Love to read :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57410.43
ETH 2916.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67