Introduce Yourself

What's up fellow Steamians? (Not sure if that's the proper terminology) My name is Doug and I'm delighted to have been accepted into this community. I live in Maryland here in the USA. I'm a sports fan and among my favorite teams are the Baltimore birds - both Orioles and Ravens. Shout out to the former Ravens players and front office personnel
who won the Superbowl with the Philadelphia Eagles this year.

Torrey_Smith.png

I go back a few years so even though the Colts are now in Indianapolis to me they are still a part of the Baltimore sports family. Growing up in this area, sports have always gone the distance as far as inspiring and motivating me. I wish to share some of that inspiration with the Steemit community.

Moving down the timeline a little, after high school and a year of college I enlisted in the US Army. It was a time of peace and I really enjoyed the experience of being a soldier. There's nothing else like it and I met people who are still my friends today. I met my wife while serving in the military which is one of the best things that has happened to me. I also volunteered and served in an elite unit as a paratrooper. "All the way"

Paratrooper.png

I learned a little something about computers in the military but they weren't too popular back then; at least not in the home. When home PCs started catching on they didn't come internet ready. How many people here can remember when you had to go to Sears to buy a Prodigy kit? This kit had hardware and software that you installed on your computer so you could go online through your phone jack.

prodigy_installation_kit.png

Man, we've sure come along way since then. They used to sound like a fax machine connection and as soon as you started to really browsing, the modem would sometimes drop the signal. Anyway, I'm not here to tell my age, but that was back in the day before there was a Google.

There's an old saying - The man who wants something in life finds a way, the man who doesn't finds an excuse. So what is this something I want? Well, I've set my mind to becoming a success here on Steemit and from what I can see the way for me to do that is by helping others through well thought out motivational and inspirational articles and
comments. Let me know what you think of my strategy.

Sort:  

Nice post ! Upvoted from @chanthasam ! Follow me, give a comment, Upvote my post, when I see you come one my post I always give you an upvote and comment back on your ! Steem on ! Together we grow ! Thanks

Welcome to steemit! goodwork on your post, I upvoted you. :)
you can follow me @bettasplendens if you wanted to check my post too
Godspeed!

hi dougsays, it’s nice to see new face on steemit, hope you will spread positive vibes in steemit.and keep up the good work on steemit...;-) and be regular on steemit it will make grow you faster... ;-)

Welcome to steemit , upvoted you will regularly do on your good work , for newbie tips and basic information you can check my blog at @adityajainxds

some of the important website you need to now.

https://steemd.com/@ (username)
http://steemitboard.com/welcome.html
https://steemnow.com/@ (username)

This one you need a must to sign up beause you will get more followers and more upvote by everyupvote and lastly the more points the more SBD. Try it and grow yourself

https://steemfollower.com/?r=9826

You Have My Back.....
Thanks @adityajainxds

Congratulations @dougsays! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @dougsays! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @dougsays! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63493.34
ETH 2578.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79