YouTuber, Photographer, Vegan Food Blogger. Im the Doubtful Centrist.

Greetings fellow Steemians.

I’d just like to say I'm truly excited to be here. I heard about you guys through my friend, the vegan adventurer/cyclist Joseph Kendrick. You can find him at @savetheanimals He creates superb content showing just what can be done when fuelled by plants. As for me, I’m a YouTuber, Photographer and Vegan Food Blogger situated in little town in Kent, England.

Having recently graduated from a degree in Mathematics (its quite the change, I know!) these projects are all in their relative infancy, but I aim to build and develop my profile over the coming months bringing you guys along for the ride.

As for my YouTube, I will be creating educational, informational and sometimes conversational videos discussing big ideas (and the odd tiny, minute idea that I just find incredibly interesting). You can find me on Youtube at Doubtful Centrist as well. I believe that the next wave of vegan advocacy is about showing the world that vegans are more than just vegans, we can be ordinary people, with ordinary lives. In this regard, the majority of my YouTube videos will be about broader social and political issues.

Thumbnail.jpg

Politically, I fall somewhere between Social Liberalism and Libertarianism. Markets work best when free from interference, however, I recognise that left to its own devices the market price will fail to account for positive and negative externalities. I am a strong believer that the individual should have the right to do as they please, assuming their actions do not directly cause harm to others. Generally, I think that governments should have less power and less influence while still ensuring that the least fortunate are helped and encouraged to overcome the hurdles they face. It’s a difficult balancing act, I know.

I approach problems with hesitation, ensuring I take the time to adequately analyse and assess the arguments and evidence for and against an issue before coming to a position. I am always open to revaluate my position, so If you think I’ve missed something please do bring it to my attention. I go by the motto, “Strong Ideas, Held Loosely”. I think it perfectly captures my attitude towards life.

Edit30.jpg
(This was taken on a solo camping trip in Scotland shortly after my mother passed away. I just needed to get out into the country side and clear my head. This shot is one of my all time favourites, both for its aesthetic qualities and for its personal significance)

I’ve been doing Photography for over 8 years now. A central theme to my work would be one of Disassociation and a feeling of detachment. It can vary from landscape photography, through portrait and on to street and travel photography. I struggle with my relationship to photography, especially finding the balance between creating for myself and creating for the viewer. It’s a troubling dilemma but the beauty of Photography is its ability to reframe the ordinary, affecting the way both the photographer and viewer observe and interact with the world.

In terms of Food blogging, I enjoy showing the world that eating vegan is more than just salad and hummus. I like to get creative with my cooking, experimenting and trialling otherwise unheard combinations. Some pay off, others don’t! (Marmite and avocado on toast? Definitely pays off!)

00100dPORTRAIT_00100_BURST20171109203553489_COVER (1).jpg
(Here we have a glorious Chili con Seitan truly brimming with flavour!)

In general, I try to ride the line between creativity and logic, structure and impulsivity, chaos and order. The best things in life utilise a combination of seemingly polarising but ultimately complementary themes and I try to bring this into my creative endeavours. Variety truly is the spice of life and we together we can bring about harmony through balance and understanding.

Thank you for taking the time to get to know me a little better, if you think you might like what I have to share, please do follow and if I’ve sparked a few ideas, leave a comment below and let’s chat!

Yours truly,
Doubtful Centrist

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community @doubtfulcentrist! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

i love vegan food. 😇

Oh brilliant! Its such a shame that it has a reputation for being boring. I've actually found that since going vegan my love of food has INCREASED!! There's so much more variety. When I ate meat I ended up just eating the same things over and over again. Just waiting for the vegan revolution to begin ;)

hello my friend and welcome to the great family of steemit
I'm sure you will never regret it.
And I'm glad you joined the strong group.
I'd love to follow you, I'm already following you ..
By the way it's a great place to find people with common themes .. good luck

Thank you for your kind greetings. Im looking forward to getting stuck into the community

Thanks for the shout out! Should have a blast on here. Vegan take-over is imminent lol

Veeery nice to see another vegan in here! But I keep wondering whats your name,is it strange? :)) Anyway Im looking forward for your nest posts.

Im trying to keep some form of pseudonymity as some of my political videos may end up pissing off the wrong group of people and I really dont want such personal details to get into the wrong hands. But you can just refer to me as DC or doubtful if youd prefer

Alright.Sounds good

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58000.61
ETH 3105.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42