Blood and near death to positive psych... does that work as an intro?

Hello Steemians, I’d like say hello, that I’m excited to be here and let you know who I am and the kinda stuff I’ll be posting. Let’s make it easy…

I’m Alan, English but live in NZ, a Doctor of Clinical Hypnosis and an NLP and Neuro-Semantics Master Trainer. OK, that’s not very easy, is it? Well, you’ve probably heard of hypnosis; NLP and Neuro-Semantics is basically really cool positive psychology stuff turned into easy to use techniques. Is that better?
19.jpg

But how did I get here? Well, good question, because I didn’t always do this… So a heads up here, the rest of this post tells my personal story. It’s my personal journey of going through near death and a lot of struggles. Feel free to skip it if you’re not interested, but please keep in touch.

Ok, from the mid 90’s up until 2001 I was, well... a complete shit in many ways. You see, in the mid 90’s my life spun out of control… I was just an average bloke in my 20’s working at my trade as a glass cutter/glazier. But on 21st Aug 1995 I had an accident at work that almost killed me, and left me technically ‘disabled’ (although I refuse that term)….

A 1.22x2.14 metre piece of glass I was carrying broke on me. It almost severed my left arm at the elbow, I suffered 45% blood loss and had to be evacuated by helicopter to hospital where I needed emergency surgery just to save my life.

The medics on the scene were incredible. They put plasma lines in both my feet and my good arm to stop my veins and arteries collapsing – that would have killed me. The surgeons, doctors and nurses all did an amazing job and even saved my arm from total amputation; it was touch-and-go… it still doesn’t work properly, never will. But I’m alive and that’s thanks to those amazing men and women who literally saved my life.

But that accident and the subsequent recovery was a hard adjustment to make. I hit a low point in my life that lasted years and brought with it all kinds of trouble; …booze, violence… lots of very bad things!
Then around 2000 I said to myself “C’mon Alan, you gotta sort your life out, if you carry on like this, …it’s not gonna end good!”

But could I turn my life around from such a major low point? Well, I did have one natural talent; I’ve always been able to understand people, y’know, what makes ‘em tick. I’d notice themes and patterns in people and their behaviours that seemed pretty obvious to me, but almost everybody else seemed to miss.

Here’s an example, when I was working as a nightclub doorman it was like I could ‘just tell’ who was going to cause trouble, and so I could easily diffuse bad situations before they ever got started. One of my bosses once commented when I was moving on, “I’ll be sorry to see you leave, Al, there’s hardly ever any trouble when you’re working the door”. I even used to be able to throw people out/get people to leave – and have them shake my hand and say thanks… for me throwing them out!
I just had a way with influencing people, and making them happy, no matter what the situation. I’ve even taught this professionally to door staff and bar workers.

So I decided to build on this natural strength, to leverage it. I devoted myself to learning all about PRACTICAL positive psychology; how to control my mind, how to think better, how to change my life ‘from the inside, out’. You know, not just all theory and research but real-world techniques that anyone with a brain can use to make a huge difference in their lives. So that’ll be the stuff I Steem about by the way.

Since that decision, I’ve just kept learning. And things have gotten better and better… with the occasional exception like the major earthquakes that devastated my beautiful home town of Christchurch here in NZ throughout, 2010-11, that was tough, on everyone.

But even those events taught me real ways how to face adversity and overcome pretty much anything; loss, death, stress, anxiety… and I was even able to help countless other people to do that too, I’ve even written a book on it.
book.jpg

So that’s my initial post… if you’ve read this far – well done! :D I’m looking forward to getting to know others in this community, so leave a comment, say hi, and let’s start some chats going.

Cheers,
Alan

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit!
It can be an amazing place. So much information and some amazing people. If anyone told you that you will get rich here.... don't believe it. Though a few have made some thousands without any investment, most big players invested a lot of their own money to BOOST their performance.

Community is key here. If you don't make friends, it will be near impossible to get people to read your blogs. Even then, it comes very slowly. Look up MSP(Minnow Support Project) and MSP Pal Net on Discord app. You will want to go to @minnowsupport and then join the Discord group.

As for Posts... you have 5 tags you can add. You don't have to use 5. The first one is the one YOU CANNOT edit. So make sure the first is correct. But please don't use tags that don't apply. If I am posting about the pizza that I just ate, I shouldn't tag it as STEEM or CREATIVEWRITING (unless... of course I narrate it as some interesting story full of mermaids and hidden treasure).

You can search tags by typing in: www.steemit.com/created/tagyouwanttosearch like www.steemit.com/created/canada
This will get you started on finding Steemians with similar interests.

Oh... and if you haven't yet... do read through a few of the sections and resources on https://steemit.com/welcome
IT is really helpful!

I am a volunteer here. Mostly I search for people abusing the steemit platform. But I try to greet new users as well and provide some helpful advice. Hopefully I have done that for you!
Take care and goodluck!

Welcome to Steemit! I love psychology. I wrote a book, How-to Sim Your Life, where I use the game of the Sims to explain basic psychological theories :)

We have radio shows on MSPWaves Radio where we listen to many different psychological approaches from the members of Steemit. It sounds like you would make a good host, or definitely a good interview! Be sure to stop by Minnow Support to find out more.

wit-list-trans

hr2

pal-sig-anim-trans

hr2

Thanks! Ooooh, very interesting, I'll check it out.

Welcome to steemit @doctoralan. Join #minnowsupportproject for more help. @OriginalWorks will help you verify original content .
If you want to plant a tree try @treeplanter
Use @tipu to give users a 0.1 SBD tip.
Upvote this comment to keep helping more new steemians

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @doctoralan to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Nice work Alan. Welcome aboard. It is a lot to learn and take in. I will be more active once we have released our token. But will be good to see what you put out on here. Talk soon.

Cheers Mike. Looking forward to your stuff! Following you... like a stalker... hahaha!

Truly inspiring post. Thanks for sharing and keep it real mate! 🔝

Thanks for reading... great to be here, and meet ya!

Great story, and I applaud you for making the positive shifts in your life and psyche.

Cheers, and the cool thing is; if I can do it, anyone can :)

They can right, can't they not? 😉

Welcome to the community! Very inspirational story. Following :)

Thank you. Gonna check out all you great people who replied!

Congratulations @doctoralan! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote
You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 63894.70
ETH 3178.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63