Modern healthcare begins with YOU and the community you foster

Hello Everyone,

My name is Josh. I'm a Canadian physician living in the US. I attended medical school in four different countries as part of a program that allowed me to experience a great diversity of healthcare systems - their benefits and problems. I have been exploring Steemit for about a month now and believe it to be the ideal platform to start interacting with an online community with a tremendous upside to affect change. Here's a little about me and why I've chosen to join this community:

In my teens and early twenties I guided whitewater kayaking trips in the Canadian wilderness for a summer camp. I would spend the school year eagerly awaiting the fleeting months of summer when Canadian waters warmed to the point where nothing more than a life-jacket was needed to paddle these world-class northern rivers. Summer evenings were spent by river-side camp fires preparing food for the next day’s trip. The perpetually dull roar of rushing water near the campsite served as a constant reminder of the accomplishments of that day and the new tests we would face tomorrow. The river continues challenging me today and over the years has instilled lessons that project far beyond its banks.

Today, my approach to medicine and healthcare is in some ways similar to the way I approach kayaking. A raging river is like a living breathing organism - it commands respect and its unpredictable nature requires the ability to quickly adapt. It's like a puzzle where safe passage is granted to those who successfully fit its pieces together; the more knowledge of currents, waves, and eddy lines, the safer your journey down. I've learned that navigating the turbulent waters of modern healthcare requires a similar approach.

I've come here to Steemit to foster this approach, and put the healthcare puzzle together with the support and resources of a community. The only way to achieve this is through interaction, and I see tremendous potential in this platform to promote conversation about the world's healthcare landscape, both large and small. We can't begin to speculate on the affect the decentralized nature of Steemit will have on the way we care for each other.

So please, ask questions, give suggestions, and contribute your thoughts. What are some of the health and medical issues you would like to see explored in the Steemit space?

I look forward to contributing to this community.

  • Dr. Josh
Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit Land! Great to see you continuing to post more often now!
I wish you the best! Hope you gonna have fun with our community and see you soon.

Welcome to steemit Dr. Josh , I hope to read more of your article to get more healthy tips. See you around.

@purepinay I'm looking forward to providing you with lost of healthy tips.

Hey , how are you ?
welcome to steemit @doctor.joshbarry
following you now. :D
follow me back pls.

Thank you for the welcome. I'm looking forward to getting started. Please ask any health-related questions here.

A new Steemian ^^ hello @doctor.joshbarry I hope you enjoy your time here, its a great community ! Nice post, wish you much luck! I will follow your account. Don't hesitate to contact or follow me at any time :-) See you around @tradewonk

Thank you @tradewonk, it seems like the right community to contribute to.

Welcome to Steemit! Always great to have a doctor around! ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66543.69
ETH 3327.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71