Why do I like Steem and Bitshares? Because they ADDING REAL VALUE, not just solving [difficult math] problems.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

There aren't many Christian pastors who are computer geeks.  I'm one of them... and I'm glad to be here!

It's taken me some time to "get on board" with cryptocurrency.  The biggest reason?  I really think that Bitcoin, and many of the other the "big names" in cryptocurrency are really nothing but huge scams.  

I'm sorry - but it's true.  

Sure, there are some parents who will pay their highschool student for good grades in math, but I don't think that expending huge amounts of effort doing math problems is quite the same as meaningful work.  After all, if that was the case, college math and accounting students wouldn't need to pay big money for the privilege of offering "proof-of-work" to their professors!

But along comes some fancy new maths done by super fast computers --- and people are willing to fork over cash when the computer comes up with a magical answer.  Seriously?!?!  I mean, really.... I never got cash for proving my work in math class! (Ok, maybe a little jealousy too....)

Now, I admit, that's a bit of hyperbole and a bit of an over simplification.  But considering the resources expended in "mining" these first generation cryptocurrencies and the reality that the great majority of the (so-called) cryptocurrency bubble is because speculators simply see these cool new shiny things that they neither understand and, worse, are paying to get ahold of something that doesn't inherently create value, and I found very little good about crypto - and instead had great cause for concern that "cryptocurrency is just a flash in the pan."

Enter STEEM and BITSHARES.  The value of these currencies is not in the magic numbers that somehow capture the value of doing difficult mathematical proofs.  Rather, they are an economic tool that captures the efforts of individuals and groups who have invested in solving real problems and creating real value for others.  They allow people to contribute value to the system, and they reward those who do.  THAT is the purpose of a currency.  And THAT is what brought me here.

What do *I* hope to do here?  A little of everything.  My interests are varied - from theology to web technology to politics,  you'll probably see me posting on a little bit of everything.  I'm very excited to be here and see what others are doing as well!

Sort:  

Pleasure to have you in the community . You will find your favorites here ,There is some thing for everyone.. jkenny

Welcome to Steemit dm42. Let me know if you got any questions about Steem/Steemit. The official FAQ can be found here and is quite extensive https://steemit.com/faq.html - Also, Steemit is just one of the sites using Steem the blockchain. We also have Dtube, Dsound and Steepshot if you prefer videos,music or pictures instead of blogging content. And many more of course!

Thanks!

I've already looked at Dtube and Dsound - and am looking at some possible uses for them - very interesting tech! Haven't seen Steepshot yet - may have to look into that.

Good introduce @dm42 make our dream come true with steemit.
Visit my blog If you want to learn some article
Regards

Congratulations @dm42, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that awesome content will get great profits by following these simple steps, that have been worked out by experts?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62182.25
ETH 2437.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61