A Bath Busk, A mad jugglersteemCreated with Sketch.


A. I love this music and setting. We're in Bath in the old part of town. Just outside the pump room the buildings are a classic Bath Sandstone, and, if your mind crops out just a little modern street paraphernalia, gives you a sense of a time long gone. ( I can well be a succer for thinking that the olden days were somehow magical even understanding the historic times were often harsh and cruel).

There is something timeless to it, something that grounds me in the Englishness of it all, and, as Steward Brand goes on about, is one area that gives my life meaning as it syncs with my love of the 'long view of time'.

B. What makes you live a life or part of your life doing something so esoteric as playing a fiddle on a high wire? In the tourist town of Bath I'm sure the tips are great, I certainly helped (virtue signalling I know), but what a rich culture Bath has, that makes you comfortable doing this one act for a living.

Does he feel this is his calling, to entertain and be a part of the commiunity, where does this fit into his life plan? Maybe there is no life plan and he lives in the moment so much that he just follows his whims. I'm scared for him and admire him. I certainly repect him. I'm a curious soul and when I see street entertainment it baffles me, overwhelms me that people can see the world so differently to me.

C. How did all the other shoppers feel as they passed him? As modern shoppers passed the street performer by I noticed there was an age old mix of those who could'nt give a damn and were on a mission 'to buy the pork chop', to the curious but sorry no time 'got to get back to feed the cat', to the surprised & delighted and the growing number of souls who stood by to watch and clap.

It was a moment in time on a cool Autumn day but I wanted to re-live it and write it up so that that moment wont be lost.

Referency.

(i) Stewart Brand is an American writer, best known as editor of the Whole Earth Catalog. He founded a number of organizations, including The WELL, the Global Business Network, and the Long Now Foundation.

(ii) And Bizarrely, and I never knew this but it cropped up in the results when I tried to find the spelling: Paraphernalia were the separate property of a married woman, such as clothing and jewellery "appropriate to her station", but excluding the assets that may have been included in her dowry. The term originated in Roman law, but ultimately comes from Greek

P.S. Please can someone let me know what the music is so I can get it on my play list?


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Welcome to Steem. Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.
Please bookmark Steem BluePaper and Steem Whitepaper and don't miss reading when you have time.
All the Best!!!

Learning to play the fiddle and use a high wire are not skills acquired on a whim, they take a lot of practice. He probably makes a living as a performing artist and sadly, it is precarious at best but enjoys his unconventional lifestyle

Point taken. These are imense skills. The ease and lythness with which he scaled the wire and ease of movement on the wire is not from a man who doesnt have amazing selfcontrol. The word whim was used more as a description of the way you can live in the moment and follow your calling.

Whimsical life choices, indeed ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57497.94
ETH 3099.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32