From Raspberry Pi to STEEM and Beyond

From Raspberry Pi to STEEM and Beyond

Hello fellow STEEMers!  

I came to learn about STEEMIT from the various cryptocurrency news sources I read daily to get my crypto news 'fix'  My journey into cryptocurrencies started innocently enough whilst conducting research on the Raspberry Pi.  I came upon a DIY article on how to create a Bitcoin node from a Raspberry Pi.  The article, which I found on Flipboard (great news culling app), got me super curious about cryptocurrency, its value in the real work and its practicality.  Before getting 'all into this stuff', things seemed simple and pretty straightforward.  

I learned of the Bitcoin halving due to occur approximately on July 10th, 2016.  I learned that Bitcoin issuance will be capped at 21 Million BTC.  I learned about this 'new' blockchain dubbed Ethereum brought to the masses by a scrawny genius (Vitalik Buterin).  I learned about the DAO and the intricacies of token holding and their inherent backing of other alt coins.  The journey has opened my mind to many more possibilities not just in the field of crypto but, in all aspects.

The .com boom and the Manifest Destiny of domain names came and went with a few lucky duckies who believed in their foresight of how the future would be shaped by technology.  Maintaining a malleable mind allows one to consider possibilities that others have been blinded to through fear and societal conscription.

With all the long view speculation that fiat currencies cannot sustain itself in its current economic model, it seemed natural and logical for cryptocurrencies to start positioning itself by slowly introducing this concept of 'global barter' in a sense.  The inherent nature of blockchain ideology is void of tariffs, politics, and exuberant transaction fees.  Putting the owners of cryptocurrency in full control and ownership of said assets (currently, the most popular assets are cryptocurrencies)

I was immediately drawn to the world of crypto.  Growing up, I happened upon a program aimed at culling computing power to form a single cluster computer in the name of exploring outer space.  This program was dubbed S.E.T.I (Search for Extra Terrestrial Intelligence).  

It was a pretty straightforward setup for an executable from the 90s and within a few minutes, I was contributing in the search for Extra Terrestrial Intelligence and it felt pretty cool.  I felt connected and a part of this community whom I have never met nor interacted with on any level.  How can this be?  Feeling a sense of community while alone in my parent's basement on my Tandy 1000.  This was because I was able to contribute to a cause I truly believed in from the comfort of my house.

From 1993 through about Late 2015, I was following the script of life.  Go to your prom, go to college, get a job.  So, yea, I had accepted this fate and did a pretty decent job (no pun intended) of navigating this template surely intended for the masses.  I am a tech and love what I do.  I didn't realize that complacency started to rule my life.  Most things were in cruise control and I found myself eliminating things from my life that did not benefit me.  This killed my inner spirit of learning and curiosity due to a 'lack of need'  In 2015, I joined a company full of really smart people and just by being surrounded by these smart people, began to think more critically and regained my sense of adventure.  

This is where the Raspeberry Pi cameo makes its appearance.  I have yet to purchase or own a Raspberry Pi but, the Pi is the very reason I am here on STEEMIT today.  I am in for the long haul and hope all those who enjoy writing are recognized for their contributions.

My Journey from Pi to STEEM

  • February 2016 - Learned of Raspberry Pi on Flipboard
  • March 2016 - Purchased Antimer S3+
  • April 2016 - Sold Antimer S3+ and Purchased Antminer S7
  • May 2016 - Built an 80Mh/s Ethereum Rig from 2 x Radeon 7990 on Ubuntu 14
  • May 2016 - Mined 100 HODL from an outdated laptop (Deposited 90 HODL for 365 days Maturation 2300 HODL)
  • June 2016 - Joined STEEMIT - currently at just under 13 STEEM POWER

This is my 3rd go around at making an Intro and am still fumbling around on figuring out how to:

  • Post photos
  • Delete my abhorrent previous postings

Thanks for taking the time to stop on this post.

Be well and have a good day!

Sort:  

wellcome

Great to have you in the community!

Upvoted you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60787.40
ETH 2994.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82