Hi Steemit!, My name is Darlene Hildebrandt

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Who am I?

And where do I get off telling you how to take better photos?

I am the face behind Digital Photo Mentor. I have been a professional photographer for over 29 years, and as such have photographed everything from soup to hay—literally—including doing food photography; weddings; family portraits; corporate events and products.

After a forced change of direction (a.k.a. divorce), I left my photography studio behind and moved on to other aspects of photography—including sales, fine art, and travel. I've finally landed on teaching and I couldn't be happier. I've written for and have been published on websites and in newspapers around the world, and am currently the Managing Editor of Digital Photography School!, one of the most popular photography sites on the internet.

Teacher

I teach several workshop-style classes in Edmonton, Alberta, Canada including:

Travel Photography – how to get better photos on your next trip
Night Photography – a very popular class that often includes a field trip
Available Light Photography– learn about using natural light for better people photos
Street Photography – how to photograph on the street, including strangers, safely and have more confidence

Photo tour leader:

I currently lead photo tours to Cuba, Nicaragua, Morocco, India, Myanmarand I am in the process of planning some new destinations including Peru and Vietnam. They will be added to our tour section in when more information becomes available.

Workshops:

I also do workshops for photographers of all skill levels in Alberta and British Columbia Canada, Mexico and am developing an Eastern Canadian workshop that would be situated to suit Canadian and North Eastern US
student.

Managing Editor of Digital Photography School:

After writing for Digital Photography School for nearly 2 years, I have been the Managing Editor of that site since November 2013.

I have been featured on these sites or businesses

I am a regular co-host on the TWiP (This Week in Photo) podcast. Episode I have participated in include #298, #300, #302, #338, #346, [#378], #382, and #391

Other sites I've been featured on:

1 - An interview on Smart Talk Success
2 - PhoGro – grow your photography – 3 Important Elements of Composition No One’s Talking About
3 - Nature and wildlife photographer Martin Baily interviews Darlene about quality of light on his podcast
4 - Bryan at Sprouting Photographer talks with me on his photography podcast about why I think every photographer should adopt an amateur mindset.
5 - The Two Hosers and I talk about portrait lighting on their photography podcast
6 - I wrote“How to Find Good Light for Portraits Even at Midday” for DIY Photography website
7 - I contributed video from my new Portrait Fundamentals course to PhotographyBB's photography magazine “Clarity: Photography Beyond the Camera” Volume 5

My personal vision

My vision is to help you be a little more creative, expand your horizons, and maybe even push your boundaries a little. I strive to provide a safe place to learn about photography and yourself as well as a chance to try new things and meet new people along the way.

source :
https://www.digitalphotomentor.com/about-darlene/

Twitter : @dpmentor

Instag : dpmentor

pinterest : https://www.pinterest.com/dpmentor/

youtube https://www.youtube.com/user/herviewphotography/feed

Sort:  

Hi
Welcome to Steem. Congratulations! It's an awesome community. I followed you. Please follow back. Good Luck.

Welcome to Steemit. Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.
Please bookmark Steem BluePaper and Steem Whitepaper and don't miss reading when you have time.
All the Best!!!

Welcome Darlene and wow - what a resume! Thanks for sharing your expertise with us. All the best.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by mdarhri from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87