Five years in crypto and first post on Steemit...

Hi Steemit,

I'm really excited to be making my first post here as I'm a big fan of writing and a longtime supporter of digital currencies, working in the space with a number of startups, VCs, universities and NGOs since 2014, when I left an ecommerce company out of Nairobi and NYC I helped co-found to move to London to focus on this space full time.

IMG_8785.JPG

This photo is from CoinSummit London back in July 2014. It's actually making me somewhat nostalgic to look back at the conference website and see who was around back then, smile at their old headshots and see how things have or haven't changed in the space: https://www.coinsumm.it/

Speaking of space, this photo was from a talk that happened at Level39 in London which had something to do with colonizing space and the opportunity for crypto there. Which reminds me of a talk Peter Todd gave last fall in Paris at Breaking Bitcoin which I can recommend (and which luckily I've managed to find on YouTube): Solar Powered Space Pirates: A Threat to Bitcoin?

My hobbies are traveling, social impact work and tech. I'm currently at 90 countries visiting and hoping to add at least three more to that list this year. I may need to cover some travel articles in this...! I was born in Canada but have lived and / or worked in France, the US, the UK, Germany, Austria, Nigeria, South Africa, Sierra Leone, Burkina Faso, Japan, Ireland, Switzerland, Croatia, Finland, Italy, Spain and Mexico. I don't pick favorites and I hope this list gets longer!

As a new user, I'd love to know your tips for using Steemit and it would also be really interesting to learn for you all about what you love or don't love about the platform and how to make the most of it.

More soon,

Diana

Sort:  

Welcome Diana :) Would you be up to post a verification picture? Greets!

Welcome to steemit @dianacbiggs upvote :)

Welcome to the plattform!
You will enjoy it...

Steem is a good investion..SBD is higher at the moment bu is planned to decrease until it reaches 1$ again... If you need some help just write a comment somewhere ;)

Welcome! This is a great place to get crypto news and a great place to earn money. But it does take work. It takes time and effort to get noticed or you will only be making fractions of pennies. Growing out of being a minnow is rough, but be persistent. Ill follow you, but follow me back. Ill help support you when you post.

Also check out this user and the post to get your post resteemed:

https://steemit.com/resteem/@average-joe/free-resteem-get-your-post-resteemed-for-more-rewards

Steemit is awesome. Getting paid to comment and stuff?! Just started my steemit account this month also. Hope to make a lot of new Steemian friends on here. Well have fun!

Thanks. I've had my account for a while now, finally getting around to testing it out!

welcome to the crypto-currency universe

Five years in crypto, you are lucky! haha. Wish I knew about cryptos before. Welcome @dianacbiggs. Keep us updated with all the relevant news in the crypto world.

Ha, well I will say - it wasn't such a bubble, there were a lot of bad actors and exchange hackings were much more common

Welcome to steemit!

I love Steemit because it connects me with other crypto enthusiasts like yourself. I'm working to help Canadians understand the advantage of blockchain and cryptographic currency technologies. I'll give you a follow, if what I do interest you follow me back : )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66982.11
ETH 2591.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67