6 Word Intro – Introduce yourself in a powerful way with clarity

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Introduction is a skill worth mastering. According to statistics, a successful networker or a businessman in New York meets 3 new people every day. There are about 90 opportunities to introduce yourself and make a good first impression a month!

I attended a personal branding conference in Ibadan and I wanted to share with you the most impressive exercise they had us to do. They taught us to introduce ourselves with greater clarity and confidence using only 6 key words. The exercise was called the 6 Word Intro. They carried-out an exercise to show us and it was great. They asked us to go introduce ourselves on the camera before and after the exercise. This is reminiscent of the before and after image in The Big Loser.

The framework is very simple:

The first word is I or We if you represent a company.

The second word is HELP or a version of the help

The third part is WHO Do You Help aka customer

The next part is ACHIEVE. It will be the same for everyone.

And the last part is RESULT, finally, what are you helping them achieve?

I + HELP + (insert the word for the client) + ACHIEVE + (insert the word for the result)

The reason why this formula is so powerful is because it allows you to return the ball to the applicant faster than normal. It intrigues them and interests them.

When I say, "I help adults and adolescents achieve academic greatness," the other person chooses where to focus on in my introduction. They are also surprised at how concise I am and opens a dialogue.

"Wow, how are you doing this?"

"Are you a guardian?"

"What kind of greatness are you talking about?"

And most importantly, let the other person lead the conversation. For example: "I help business professionals connect and grow their businesses.”

"Wow, what kind of professionals?"

"How are you doing this exactly?"

The applicant is totally committed now, which increases the likelihood of making the actual connection.

Feel free to modify the formula according to your needs. I always change the client depending on where I am, whether I'm talking to Dumbo Creative, PWC Executive or with parents at an APT meeting.

Try practicing by saying in front of the mirror. Most communication is not verbal and much of the way you say it is not what you say.

Sort:  

Hello @diallo, Welcome to the Steemit community. And your approach to the introduction is unique (At least for Me :D), And I am sure we all can learn much more from you.

looking forward to hear from you. :D

Thanks for your comment @inuke. it is a pleasure to be in this community. we'll learn from each other.

I HELP MINNOWS ACHIEVE STEEMPOWER.
That bit is too much, but I will definitely apply this way of introduction in my workplace.
Well, I am mostly a movie buff and reviews them. Sometimes write my thoughts to the Steemworld. At present, I am organizing a contest inuke’s story writing challenge #1 : Writing Contest for Minnowsit is exclusively for minnows (new users). Take a look. If you are into writing and storytelling. :D

Happy Steeming Friend.

Greetings from India

Woohoo! Am glad you like it and please do apply it. I will definitely checkout the writing challenge.

Congratulations @diallo, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that awesome content will get great profits by following these simple steps, that have been worked out by experts?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70893.40
ETH 3659.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76