Introduce Yourself

in #introduceyourself6 years ago

I live in Montana and make zines, art, write, play music, and for my day job I am a therapist in a school. I am also an activist, organizer, and community idea maker. I constantly explore questions like: How can creative people use their powers for the common good? How can advocates, helpers, and change makers avoid burnout and find revitalization in their work? Is healing justice possible, and if so, what is it made of? How can I maintain a sense of wholeness as I struggle to survive in broken systems and a decaying world? (Cheerful, I know).

Aside from advocacy work and art, I am also a huge nerd in many other ways that you'll get to know as I post here! :) With all this blended together.... I do consultant work and offer counseling. I am about to gain licensure (LCSW) in my state, and am working toward opening a private practice.

red small.jpg

I hope to use this space as a wild ground to post my writing and art! I want to be kind of unconstrained at times, and experiment as much as possible. I also want to explore and learn here. I have been so blown away by Steemit so far, and am scrambling to catch up and understand this place because it appears to be just the kind of community I have been looking for.

Screen Shot 2017-12-05 at 9.17.06 PM.png

I will probably blog about my therapy/consulting/social justice work as well. I look forward to finding like-minded souls, and I look forward to having my perspective changed by people who are totally different than me, too.

Sincerely,

DFlo

December 5th, 2017.

Sort:  

Oh great ! welcome )) so much activities . How do you have time for everything ? ))

Well I definitely don't do it all at once. I am a naturally curious and active person, but I do like to be super lazy and do nothing as well! :)

Well said 🤣🤣 sometimes I like to be super lazy too 😝

Welcome

Welcome and it is very nice to meet you I’m fairly new little over two months now and I’m enjoying it very much

Cool yes there is a lot to get used to but I am pretty excited to keep exploring.

Hi @dflo

I really love your well informed introduction.

Thanks for telling us about yourself.
Steemit is a wonderful social media community, at first, growing up your steemit account may be difficult but don't give up
I’m Kingsley, I’m a graphic designer and a writer.
You're very welcome to steemit. I wish you success. I hope you'll enjoy steemit as time goes on. I'll like to follow you so I can share ideas with you here on steemit. I'm now following you. Feel free to follow me back if you want.
@kingsley-clement

Thank you! I will now go figure out how to follow you! Thanks for the warm welcome

Just click on the users name - or their picture if showing and a box will appear to follow them or unfollow them. Easy Peasy :)

WELCOME TO STEEMIT!! ENJOY - If you have any questions about anything - and I am quite certain you will as all of us have - just ask anybody really... The community is here to help you and help our community grow and thrive.. :)

Thank you so much! I look forward to learning.

Anytime - If you have 5-10 minutes to read this post and more importantly the comments and interactions from new users and the more seasoned Steemit users you can learn a lot about how to start earning some decent rewards from day one and how not to get discouraged when posting well written, creative, image filled posts that generate only a few cents at first.. Check it out - i wish I had read something similar when I first joined Steemit. https://steemit.com/steemit/@krytonika/creating-content-vs-commenting-for-minnows-is-this-the-question-or-answer

Thanks for the guidance! I will totally read this. And I appreciate any other tips you might think of!

Ok i am back already, i read it! I wanted to come back and say that while the money is completely appealing, what has me the most excited about Steemit is the pressure that is placed on authentic connections. Most other social media spaces reward users for flattening and simplifying one's personality, to turn oneself into a "brand" first, and then go out there and sell your brand. That all feels so hollow and alienating to me, that I never last long under that polished one-dimensional image. I am always struggling with how to deal with the "artist" side of me and the "counselor in a school" side... etc. Sometimes I have tried making separate blogs to try and capture these different aspects. Or like on facebook i have like 3 different pages representing my "businesses." It feels goofy! So, I want to see if my whole self can exist on a single platform. I will continue this comment in a post soon but I just wanted to say thank you again for the link. It was very helpful, and only made me feel all the more interested in Steemit.

What is the best way to ask people questions? Is it best to reply like this, or is there a chat.. or maybe theres a tag i should follow? Thanks!

Hey - Sorry I missed your reply!! I try to respond to all but this one had got lost in the replies feed. My apologies

To answer your question I suppose I depends on what the question is -

If it's a general question about Steemit or a somewhat popular topic on here I would search a newer post and comment with your question to the author. (Sometimes they'll respond and some do not - most do tho)

Also if you already started a convos with someone - the way you responded to my last comment is fine because it will show up in my replies feed - I just happened to miss yours incidentally

Lastly - if you want an immediate response or possibly multiply views - try using Steemit.chat or Discord. Many Steemit users gravitate towards Discord it seems to chat and make new connections - I hope that helps and hope you are enjoying Steemit @dflo

I haven't seen any of your posts on my feed lately but I'm going to take a look now at your blog - sometimes I rarely see my fav bloggers because I'm following too many ppl - prob need to downsize my following list :) HAPPY HOLIDAYS!!

Hey thanks for your thoughtful reply. I found Discord the other day and am now in PAL (Minnow Support) and that has helped tremendously with my questions. I also seem to not see everyone's posts in my feed. When you tag people like you tagged me in your comment, where does that mention show up? I found your comment by reading my Reply area, but I still don't know where a @dflo mention pops up?

Hey anytime and so glad ya found the Discord channel :)

I'm not in front of a desktop at the moment but on the eSteem app there is a tab on the right of your user screen that looks like a bar graph - if you have the eSteem app you can find your @mentions there -

There are a few things like
Votes
Mentions
Reblogy
Follows
Etc

I'm positive on the destop platform there is a tab for it as well I just can't visualize it at the moment :)

Hope that helps #esteem

Maybe its because i am on a Mac? I just have in the menu i click on via my profile pic

Feed
Blog
Comments
Replies
Wallet
etc.

then theres another menu next to that with
Welcome
FAQ
Post
Stolen Accts Recovery

etc.

Or maybe its Chrome?

I dont see anywhere that has the ones you listed

The ones I listed were from the #esteem app for Apple iPhones or Androids at the Google Play Store..

See if you can download it for your phone - if you can there are extra incentives to do so from the app developer @good-karma

Thanks @krytonika ! Can you help just a little more and help me find where / how to get the incentives offered by #esteem ?

Welcome dflo ;)
You should definitely head over to the #health section, as well as the #art section! And you should start using five tags, it will give you way more visibility!
I gladly resteemd you via @welcoming where I share promising new members - Check out who else joined in the last days!
Greets!

Thank you! This is so fun for me. I was a little clueless about exactly what words make good tags here so I appreciate the ideas a lot!

Congratulations @dflo! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Yay! Thank you!

Welcome. You live in an awesome state. One of my favorites to visit.

thanks, I love it here.

welcome to steemit
follow @mtmatans7

Welcome to Steemit! Looking forward to what you have to report about ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64104.40
ETH 3148.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25