Let the Steemit posts begin! ❤️ Introduce myself

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Hello, steemit world!

Derek Cowan Steemit.jpg

Having joined Steemit last week, I thought it would be nice to officially introduce myself.

My name is Derek, 36 years old from Scotland. You will notice from my photo I have a birthmark on my face. It's not been easy living with a disfigurement, but it's made me the man I am today. I may share more about my birthmark in later posts.

I live and work as an English, Math and Science teacher here in Saigon, Vietnam 🇻🇳.

In my previous life, I ran my own business in Scotland. Leaving Scotland was the best decision I have ever made. Not because Scotland's not a good place. But for my sanity, I needed to leave. I had been depressed and knew if I left and did something good for others, I would feel better.

🎒So I left Scotland to travel and volunteer around Asia.

Using my skills I'd honed over the years, I began helping with Teaching and marketing English in Vietnam then moving on to Cambodia and Nepal while traveling to other countries in Asia.

My proudest achievement was traveling to Nepal after the country had suffered from the massive earthquakes in 2015. I knew I needed to help. So after arriving in Nepal, I soon found a village that had been destroyed. I began rebuilding homes almost immediately. At my time of leaving I had built 8 homes and helped with the education of the local school. The project I started is still going with close to 30 homes built.

derek cowan steemit intro.jpg

Some of my interests


Photography
Road trips on the motorbike
Travel
Writing
Reading
Crypto Currency
Volunteering/Charity work

I plan to write daily here on Steemit

Having many stories to tell, I'd like to share my journeys with you. Here are just some of the topics below

  • Sharing what it's like to live in Vietnam
  • Photography
  • My voyage into crypto currencies
  • Teaching English in Vietnam
  • Volunteer and charity work
  • Living with a disfigurement

What I hope for from Steemit

I'd love to make new friends and get involved with others doing similar things to me.

Please consider following me and upvoting.

I'm still new to Steemit, so still getting to grips with how the whole thing works. So any advice would be appreciated.

Keep it real Steemers

Derek

bomb on bike.JPG

https://www.Instagram.com/curious.asia
https://twitter.com/curiousasia

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit @ derekcowan!

Pleasure to be here thanks :)

Welcome :D

Welcome to Steem Community @derekcowan! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Thanks for the advice, really appreciate it @newsteemians

Welcome! Gave you a follow!

Appreciate it, followed you back!

Welcome to Steemit Derek.

It is a crazy and wonderful place here and it can be tough to get started, but your introduction post is very good. If your going to post daily you should check out the Minnow Support Project which helps people get going. There is a team there for Great Britain so you might be able to get help from some fellow Scots.

Thanks @buggedout appreciate the feedback on my Intro post, I hope you enjoy my future posts. Thanks so much for the advice, I'll check out the Minnow Support Project for sure! All the best :)

Welcome! I would recommend adding two more pictures to this post. Good luck with Steemit! :)

Appreciate the advice, i'll try to add now.

I resteemed this post. Don't be fooled by trending page. Most of the people get pennies here, not all the time but usually yes. My friend made intro post and made 70$. I saw similar posts making like your only few bucks, but don't worry about it, sometimes you miss a moment to post or who knows. Followers and money will come. Remember, key word on beginings on Steemit is patience. Good luck!

Nice first post, welcome to Steemit! Followed and Upvoted!

Thanks, followed you too :)

Welcome to Steem @derekcowan I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Thank you :) Much appreciated

Look who's here ^^ Derekcowan, In case this has been your first Introdusemyself Post i'm here to welcome you to Steemit. I hope you have a lot of fun here and you may follow me. Have a great time @rightuppercorner

Thank you for the welcome. I hope you are enjoying Steemit :)

Welcome to Steemit, Derek :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60007.44
ETH 2590.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61