Delphine's introduction

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

 Hi. I'm Delphine. I'm not yet an old French woman in her 40’s; I'm still a young girl in her 30's. I’m 39 to be exact. But I stopped counting at 20 anyway! 

                    

                    This is me a few years ago. Also my Facebook profile picture

I would like to thank @Muphy for pushing me to join this wonderful platform. I am happy to participate to the Steemit adventure. English is not my mother tongue and writing is a difficult exercise for me, so I am asking for your indulgence and I welcome all your constructive criticisms. There are a lot of topics I feel concerned about. I can’t wait sharing my thoughts with you!    

I’m married and the mother of a beautiful young boy. (You won’t see any pictures of him on any social media). My life naturally revolves around him at the moment. During my (free) time, I learn and work to become a web designer. When spring comes again, I grow vegetables in my garden in permaculture. My  dream is to become self sufficient and as most autonomous as possible.    

I always had a strong desire for independence. I started my journey toward autonomy by learning car mechanic after disastrous scholar years. I worked as an apprentice for a couple of dealers, until I moved to the Netherlands. It was very tough but I learned an incredible amount of practical knowledge during those years. Once in The Netherlands, I had to learn another language than French. English was definitely easier to learn than Dutch. Plus, who else in the world speaks Dutch? Soon after I could speak some English, I easily found customer support positions and my life here became a non-stop party for a while.   

I was working as a customer support agent at the European Patent Office when I “woke up” and start to understand the world. I mean the capitalistic world. It’s a documentary from Marie-Monique Robin that struck me: The world according to Monsanto. If you don’t know it, I invite you to watch it here:

                     


I couldn’t possibly work at the patent office anymore. Corporations are walking hands in hands with the Office. The more it went, the more I understood the “enemy” has no face and therefore is very difficult to “fight”. Plus being a full time employee and a (young) mother was too much for me. I quit my job. I quit the corporation world. It felt so good to leave all this behind! I’ll write an article about the patent industry someday. It’s a scary story!   I started to cultivate my garden. I read a lot about permaculture, its principles, how nature finds its balance… Since 2012, I let Mother Nature strive in my gardens and I regularly harvest vegetables. Another very good way to become autonomous! I will speak a lot about permaculture here! 

                    


Since 2014, I was a member of a cooperative that “rescued” organic fruit and vegetable from the trash. We were preparing boxes of at least 5 kg. Each box cost €10. It was a great initiative and I was truly proud to be part of it. Unfortunately, everything has an end; we had to stop officially last week. We might be able to start again something similar. I really enjoy giving some of my time for free.  

                    


Since October, I am learning and work to be a web designer. My goal, besides having fun, is to earn some money to add to the household. I enjoy learning new things. I see here an enormous amount of knowledge about any topic. Between the courses, and my family life, I hope to contribute to this wonderful journey that Steemit makes possible.     




All photos are mine except Monsanto picture is a print screen from YouTube. Decorations made from free vectors from Vecteezy.com.




Hi, I'm @Delph-in-holland.

If this post interested you, Resteem and Upvote!

You want more story from me, Follow me!

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community @delph-in-holland! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Find the others; the Outsiders; i found myself and also found you!

Hi Delphine and welcome! Great intro and I think you are going to like it here. All people in their 30's do ;)

Thanks @davemccoy. It looks like you like it here too!

Of course hahaha... :)

@delph-in-holland
Welcome, wishing you a wonderful journey here on @steemit
Have followed and upvoted to get you started.

Thank you @michaeljn! I'm following you too! It's not easy to start. It feels wonderful to have the support of so many people! I'm very grateful!

Welcome to Steemit! You will do well here! Lets Upvote and Follow each other! I post about envorinment!
Regards,
@leranion

Hi @leranion, I'm following you! I'm looking forward to read you. I will also post about environment as it is a topic I feel very concerned about.

Interesting introduction post! Keep sharing and have fun Steeming.

Thank you @allesia I will do so!

Welcome to Steemit, Fellow Steemian. 😃😃
"May the Steem force be with you"
Do look into my account too @ashishgj-agj.inc
Follow me @ashishgj-agj.inc

Great Intro Delphine, and a warm welcome to our amazing community!

Merci @muphy! C'est grace a toi!

Great post! Welcome to the Steemit community @Delphine! 😊

Thank you @wallflowerpunch for your support! This is my very first post! I'm very excited, keep on writing!

Absolutely!😁😁 Happy blogging!

Welcome to steemit.. Would love to see more posts from you

Thank you @johnakharia! Follow me to read more posts!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66436.09
ETH 3439.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65