My Vision for DLearn | Decentralized Education on the Steem Platform

My Vision for DLearn | Decentralized Education on the Steem Platform

I'm a software engineer (and Steemian) from San Francisco, so when I saw that Ned Scott ( @ned ), was coming to San Francisco, I knew that I had to be in the building... The meetup was well recieved and there was a huge crowd, which was a representation of the larger Steem community, consisting of not only developers, but also bloggers, vloggers, crypto enthusiasts, ICOs, investors and people just curious about blockchain technology. Being that it was such a diverse crowd, the talk wasn't as developer oriented as I would have hoped, but it did motivate me, more than ever before, to build applications on the STEEM blockchain.

The Global Problem - Lack of Access to Quality Education

Months passed and @xosluman and I realized that essentially we needed to solve the same problem on different sides of the globe. Simply put, quality of education is a global problem, so what better solution than to decentralize it? And what better platform to do it on than STEEM, where the teachers would be incentivized for bringing quality content and the "students" would be rewarded as well just for rating (upvote/flag) courses, providing useful comments, everybody wins...

U5dsxaRDxjui2KE9JZatJ6Btxonfdju_1680x8400 (1).jpeg

DLearn

The idea really materialized as I was interviewing for a position as a coding instructor at a nonprofit in San Francisco. The name was partially inspired by DTube and DSound and the D is dor Decentralized. The position is a part-time, but the excitement that the idea gave me made me try and figure out a way to be able to afford to teach my students (and new students) full-time without making the students pay (and without traditional means of funding). I also hope to be able to reward my students who prove to be consistent with laptops and I would fund it all by posting all or the content on the blockchain (probably Steem and IPFS if Steem alone wouldn't be sufficient).

Here is the original post with a little more info on me and the project: DLearn - Education, Decentralized... Making Quality Education Accessible to ALL!

Thank you for your time and consideration

Please upVote and reSteem to raise awareness and support the project

Best,

@debraycodes

U5dtEFdS7kE33EdTHdzyRavujHQeBFZ_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

I think this is an amazing idea, because a lot of the MOOC's are now super expensive. They used to have the goal of access for everyone, but now with the pricing structure, they have done with all the other models have done which is to make education segregated by the haves and the have nots. Those who want to learn and improve skills to move themselves from a have not to a have find it very difficult. I love Steemit it, because they gave us a little money to get started on the platform and then as we contribute to the platform and add value to the platform, we all win by increasing our own value and financial worth and the value of the platform. I will keep watching this one. Good luck!

Thanks for the support... I believe that with the community support this vision will become a reality on a MASSIVE SCALE!

Great idea! Let's make it happen!

im in the black crypto group follow me

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34