Introduce Yourself

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

Hi, my name is Darry. I'm new to steemit and this is my story.
In school, introducing myself was one of my least favorite thing. I had to stand in front of strangers with eyes mixed of curiosity, judgment, and irritation. Worse, I had to do that in every subject. I grit my teeth as I tell everyone "hi, you can call me Darry..my favorite subject is mathematics and science. I enjoy reading during my free time". I had to close my eyes and afford an awkward smile as I walk back to my seat while pretending not to hear the chuckles all around and not so soft whispers of "nerd", "geek", or "weirdo". I learned at a young age that being different from what society dictates makes you an outcast. The constant struggle of who you think you are and who people think you should be was not an easy feat to conquer.
Today, two decades later, Ive finally learned that I love being different. I love being awkward. I love being able to do things other cant. I am empowered, confident, and most of all, happy.
This is it for now. Thank you for reading the sneak peak of my life. Just to be clear, I am not a blogger, and I dont write fiction. I am just someone with a lot of thoughts and I find this a really good venue to share it and my adventures. Ttyl. :)

Sort:  

welcome in the community :)

Welcome to steemit, Darry! Haters gonna hate. Good to know you’ve learned to embrace it :)

Welcome and play in steemit app. I Hope you can share useful things with your writing and develop in this steemit app. Here we can mark the post with a minimum of five hastags for each person's search for the article. Enjoy in this steemit app because we also get additional income. Happy steemit @darry27

Hi @darry27 , welcome to @steemit, I can help you to explain a little about steemit. because I believe that you can be the best blogger and contributor on this site. So I'll follow you and you follow me ^. ^

@johntor

Embrace you inner nerd! #nerdsunite

Welcome to the community @darry27. No one here will judge you for being a geek, a weirdo or a nerd!

Cheers, @rebele93

Indeed. Thank you!

I think you came to a good place for sharing your adventures and whatever your thoughts are. Followed and upvoted

Aww thanks!

Congratulations @darry27! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57809.89
ETH 3118.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37