Hey there Steemit

Hey there my fellow Steemians, after spending the past few weeks exploring Steemit I figure it is about time I introduce myself.

Who are you?
My name is Jake and I am 24 years old. I live on the northeast coast of the United States where I make a living as a software engineer. I've been coding for a number of years now, I started learning to code 6+ years ago in high school so I could join the robotics club at my school. From there I went to college for Software Engineering and have been working in the corporate world for about 2 years where I specialize in Continuous Integration and Automation. I primarily work in scripting languages, and like every programmer these days I dabble in Javascript other and various other common web languages.

What do you do?
I love games, video games, board games, card games, you name it. My favorite video games are turn-based strategy games like Fire Emblem, XCOM, Battle Brothers, and Darkest Dungeons, but I’m also a fan of RPGs and I play a lot of multiplayer games with my friends. I didn’t get into board games until recently when a friend of mine opened a board game café a few towns over and introduced me to a lot the “modern” board games like Catan, Pandemic, Forbidden Desert, etc. It was these fantastic games that renewed my interest in board games.

I also love reading. While I probably spend more hours playing video games, I would have to say reading is my favorite hobby. My genre of choice is epic fantasy, with a little bit of sci fi sprinkled in for variety. I am currently reading The Night Angel Trilogy by Brent Weeks and it is fantastic, I am hoping to put together some thoughts about the series and write a blog post about it when I finish because more people need to read this series.

My newest interest is working on diy projects. I recently moved to a new condo and needed new furniture so I have been slowly filling it with various diy projects. My most recent additions were a coffee table and some key hooks.


What can you expect from me?
My goal for Steemit is to share the things I'm interested in with the community. I will definitely be sharing my love for books with #books. I love being able to help someone discover an amazing book that they can get lost in. I hope to help #gaming grow through some thought blog posts about the games industry. Some of the topics I plan to write on are "Was 2017 the year of AA games", "Is the continued success of The Witcher bad for the industry?", and my thoughts and recommendations on games I've enjoyed. I would love to be able to share some how to's with the #diy community on things I build, but the limitations of living in a condo will likely make that difficult, but I'll see what I can do :wink:

Thanks for reading and I look forward to meeting you all :smiley:

Sort:  

What a Style Well come

Welcome to the community, I thought you like photography, cant wait to read your next post.. followed.

I definitely enjoy photography! I wouldn't go as far as to call myself anywhere near a photographer, but I occasionally capture a good photo or two and have to share them. Thanks for the follow.

Welcome Jake! I’m Jaclyn today’s my first day here and I came across your intro post. Seems we have some common interest, I also enjoy gaming especially MMO’s! I’ll be throwing you an upvote and a follow. Check out my blog if you have a chance! Excited to see what comes next!

Thank you for the follow, I'll definitely be checking out your blog. I have to admit I also love MMO's, the most recent one I played was Black Desert which is a fantastic MMO, but unfortunately I just haven't the time as of late to hop back in.

Welcome! I'm looking forward to your book posts!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64870.15
ETH 3489.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54