Official Introduction: An architect, illustrator and artist. In that specific order.

Hi Steemers!


My name is Darius Woo and I am an architect based in New York City. Originally from Hong Kong, I came to the US in 2006 to pursue a career in architecture. I have been working at Weiss/Manfredi, an architecture office based in New York, as a project architect for the last five years. Since 2017, I have diversified my "resume" through illustrating covers for W42ST, a neighbourhood magazine in Hell's Kitchen, on a part-time basis.

I currently live in a studio apartment in Manhattan with my fiance, our Fiddle-leaf Fig tree and a drawer full of used tickets and chocolate wraps. (just wait and see...)

  • Me acting professionally at the opening of our project built for Kent State University, Ohio

  • Me acting goofy at the launch party of W42ST November issue somewhere in Manhattan

My Personal Work!


But let's forget what I do for a living, and let's focus on what I do to self-entertain.

"For lack of a better explanation, I essentially make art from garbage."

For as long as I can remember, I have been fascinated by colors, textures and patterns of everyday paper objects. I have amassed a rather large collection of used tickets, torn envelopes and merchandise receipts from my travels and everyday routines. I develop narratives around the seemingly mundane paper objects, and draw attention to their innate beauty through articulating shapes and forms.

  • A glimpse into my drawer full of goodies (also known as trash to some people)

I'll admit. As an architect, I often find myself oscillating between my professional inclination to control form and composition, and my artistic instinct to play and improvise. The result of such "struggle" is a series of whimsical characters, each with a unique story to tell, emerging organically around the chroma and patterns of the chosen paper artifact.

"I see interest in the commonplace of life, and would like to invite all of you to appreciate the unexpected beauty that can be found everywhere."

  • 2016, Collage made from a used NYC Subway ticket

Morning In Bed

2016, Collage made from a Gracious Home catalogue

  • 2017, Some visual studies I did at my art studio for the cover of W42ST

Window With A View

2017, Mixed media collage made from a used Amazon.com shipping box

Surprise

2016, Collage made from my plane ticket to Hong Kong

  • Me at my art studio in Gowanus, Brooklyn

Now Let's Talk About You!


For those of you who share an equally curious mind, I would love to hear all your thoughts, comments and even suggestions on what you would like to see! And for those of you who share my interest in hoarding, you should really seek professional help :)
(I'm joking, kinda.)

I look forward to connecting with each and every one of you!

Live long and prosper!

follow-darius.woo.gif

Sort:  

Hello @darius.woo! I'm glad to welcome you on SteemIt!

Thank you! I look forward to sharing more work!

Hi Darius! Great to see you here, welcome to steemit and lemme just say, ending your intro post with a Star Trek reference is an immediate +1 to me :)

WELCOME.gif

haha thank you for your support! Looking forward to more of your feedback and comments!

This... is an amazing response gif.

This gif got here thanks to your introductory post, dear @voronoi, really appreciate how you are building within the community.

great intro darius! love to see more! :) I myself study interior architecture and love graphic design and and and :D

Thanks! It is great to connect with other design professionals on Steemit! I look forward to sharing more work with you!

Welcome to the Steemit community Darius!

One person's garbage is another's art materials. ;-)

I've done this a few times myself, but rather with abandoned canvases from other artists. I've rescuded them from the rubbish pile and completely reworked them and even gone on to sell them.

A couple of Steemit tips, ignore the automated bots, they do nothing for you and just earn from your votes.

We love original content!

Be patient with building an audience.

For many new people, the voting and points system seems complicated at first. Here is an excellent post and entertaining video about how it all works.
https://steemit.com/steemit/@sethlinson/announcing-steemit-explained-a-new-animated-series

You also earn rewards for resharing (resteem) and commenting. How cool is that? So it pays for you to get involved with other people and their content.

Welcome aboard and full Steem ahead! =)

Leo.

Thanks for your kind note and support, Leo! Those are all fantastic advises and hopefully you'll be able to provide me with more feedback and guidance in the future! Looking forward!

I'm following, so I'm sure we'll cross paths again. =)

i upvoted you , You are doing great Job ,please keep writing for us ,Thanks best regards @sharoon

Thank you @sharoon. I try my best!

Now, this is what I call an interesting introduction!
Welcome to the community of Steemit, @darius.woo !

A person,
who searches the beauty in 'not-so' beautiful things,
is always a great addition to the this community!
Feel free to ask the many users of Steemit for help,
if you need any of it!
Perhaps you want to join a group of people,
for this will make your life on Steemit to some extent easier!

thank you for your kind words @magiliw! I am excited to be on board and I look forward to sharing my work and getting feedback f4rom the community!

Welcome to the steemit platform @dariud.woo. Enjoy everything Steem has to offer.

thanks! I am sure I will have loads of fun!

Awesome introduction! Welcome! Great to have you on Steemit and so excited to see more of your "garbage" ;)

Thanks @voronoi. I will be posting plenty of "garbage" :)

You're a great person. Nice to meet you. Keep going

Thank you for your support @amedeo!

My pleasure man

Welcome, superb! keep up the good work. Keep steeming.

thank you @onlyviral! I will work hard to produce!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64940.81
ETH 3553.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33