You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hi, I'm Yinaury. Here to inspire and be inspired!

Welcome @yinaury! I just moved from Queens (Sunnyside)a short while ago, now living in upstate NY. Whoa, things are just not the same up here, but, it's all good. Following you now to keep up with things down south ;) I'm @danielshortell, I write fiction (perhaps not very inspiring but definitely thought provoking :) here on Steemit, been a fun journey thus far

Sort:  

Oh nice! I grew up in Sunnyside! I like some fiction as well. Especially if it's thought provoking :) I'll be sure to check out your work!

Hahaha, small world. I miss my Korean grocer on 46th across from the Key Food (right on Queens Blvd). She was sweet, always was so nice to my toddler son and her produce was killer. I miss dodging pigeons under the 7 and watching the school kids mess with the Liberty Tax dude dressed up in the puke green statue of liberty outfit. I need to get back to nyc stat for a weekend :)

Haha! The Key Food is now a fancier supermarket. Haven't been in there but heard it's an upgrade. The pigeons are definitely still there and who knows...I might have been one of those kids messing with Tax dude. 😂 Just kidding! NYC is awesome. Yes, sometimes we need to get away and clear our minds but I think I'd miss the excitement too much.

Gentrification, damn, everywhere! I know Sunnyside was changing a lot as we were in the process of moving out. Miss the crazy diversity the most. In my son's PreK class, only three of the 20 students originated from the same country, that's just awesome. And, almost a third of the kids were biracial...super cool man, you literally have the world on a postage stamp in nyc. here in upstate ny, my son is the only biracial in his class...we have to keep loitering around the university area to get some international culture, ha! all good stuff though, take care :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64041.25
ETH 2762.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66