Introduction: Christianity + Steemit

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Hi everyone,

I'm very excited to be on this new exciting platform. My name is Dan and I'm from Southern California. My interest includes my Christian faith, business, and investing. I'm into investing in new revolutionary technology so that's what brought me here to steemit--a reddit on the steem blockchain. My main goal here is to share my Christian faith--how I found it and how it has helped me to a more peaceful and content life. Hoping to reach out to help others and meet like-minded followers of Christ.

I would like to share a brief testimony and hoping to hear about yours. I was born into a Buddhist family. We were Buddhist by tradition so we didn't really know nor follow the Buddhist teachings. I grew up just knowing to be a good person and getting my life lessons from the world. I even dabbled into New Age regilion, specifically Eckhart Tolle's teaching of the Power of Now. For awhile, I felt confident that the teachings of the Buddha and Tolle was sufficient for life. In my professional career, I excelled and climb to the top pretty quickly after graduation. I earned all the credentials and certifications that would set me way ahead of my peers. However, I felt incomplete and unsatisfied, even though I knew others wished they could have the same accomplishments as me. I was at the top but I felt drained and started to question if this is really the right path. I was exposed to men, of the Christian faith, who didn't look like the world (how they dress, how they define success, etc.) but yet they are always content, happy, and hopeful. I knew they had something that I was looking for. I started reading Bible verses related to issues that I was facing, such as manhood, success, wealth, etc. There was so much wisdom in it that I couldn't deny there's truthfulness here. Instead of reading just verses I started to actually read the Bible front to back. I realized that is is a historical book of what actually happened, and if this is true then what the Christ said about him being the way, the truth, and the life, and no one can come to the father except through him must be true. On Easter Sunday this year, 2017, I decided to become a follower of Christ--proclaiming that he is who he claims to be, my lord and savior. Then I was baptized. My walk in the faith is still young but it has already profoundly changed me. For example, I'm more generous now than before and want to serve rather than being served. Money to me now is to be used to help others and not for my own selfish gains. I'm content and hopeful at all times. Like in the psalms, I feel like a tree planted near the river, getting its nourishments from the stream of life. I do daily Bible reading and prayers to equip me for life. I just completed a 3 day fast and hoping to do longer ones later to get closer to God and also to improve my health. I thought becoming a Christian would take me away from my career, business, and investments, but it's the opposite--I'm fueled now (Philippians 4:13) to do even better so that I can help others through my God-given talent.

Anyways, enough about me. I'm excited for this community. Hoping to hear from others--please share your testimony below--and I will take any questions regarding the Christian faith. Please note that I'm not an apologetic so I'm in no place to argue what's the best way and what you should do, but I just want to share my personal take on it.

Cheers,
Dan

Sort:  

This post has received gratitude of 1.00 % from @jout

You got a 0.20% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @jout!

Welcome

Hello @dandida and glad to have you aboard! You'll find an amazing community of diverse individuals and many who share your beliefs. So get ready to make alot of new friends here! :)


source

Thank you, brother! I also love apple and cryptocurrency! Followed

I'm not very religious but I applaud seeing people mixing traditionalism and modernism. Welcome to the blockchain.

Thank you, brother. Jesus was a contradictory to the religious folks during that time. He came to abolish religious, legalistic, and hypocritical pharisees. Followers of Christ have God in their heart and love their neighbors more than themselves.

I wish more people would think of him that way

Welcome! As a Christian myself, I very much enjoyed reading your story. I look forward to more from you as well.

Thank you, brother! Glad to meet you here. Followed!

Hey...Welcome✌ follow me for getting me as a new follower. Upvoted 😇 Check out my blog @mirkmarvel

Will do. Nice photography!

Glad to have you on here! Sounds like your walk with the Lord has impacted you tremendously already! Such a great testimony

Thank you, brother! Hoping to hear others

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58334.82
ETH 2595.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40