My Introduction

Hi everyone! My name is Nicole and I'm really excited to be part of the Steemit community.

Nicole-Simpkins-press-pic-2.jpg

I'm currently living in Detroit and working in the dance music industry as a record label A&R manager, an artist manager, a DJ and live performer, producer, and event promoter.

Nicole-artist-pic.jpg

I was born in a small town in northwest Ohio and moved to Toledo when I was 10 years old. As soon as I turned 18 and graduated high school, I moved to Los Angeles to get a feel for living in a really big city. I worked odd jobs as an extra in television shows and music videos in the year that I lived there. I had always loved music and dreamed of a music career but thought that it wasn't so practical or achievable. I also loved cooking so decided that maybe I should become a chef so I moved to Portland, Oregon to go to culinary school. I finished school, got my Associate's Degree in Culinary Arts and was working as a chef in Portland for 6 years. In that time I started traveling the world quite a bit and made some good friends in The Netherlands who helped me land a culinary internship there. I moved to Groningen, a city about 112 miles northeast of Amsterdam.

Living in The Netherlands was amazing and I really got involved the the electronic music and DJ scene there. I met my now husband there while he was DJing in a club. I told him about my music dreams and he taught me how to DJ and produce music. I decided to start a record label there and started doing club events hosted by my label, AudioBite Records. After spending 7 years there, we moved back to the States. We now live in Detroit and work full-time running the label, promoting events, DJing, and producing music. I also do artist management and have started a music publishing company.

Nicole-press-pic-2013.jpg

I still love to cook and do it as a hobby, but music is and has always been my first love. I'm also really into healthy living, gardening, yoga, and love to travel and discover new places and cultures.

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit!

Welcome to steemit @dancinggirl. Join #minnowsupportproject for more help. Type in the comments of a post @OriginalWorks and it will help you verify that content is original.
Transfer SBD to @treeplanter to plant trees and get an get an upvote in exchange of your donation (Min 0.01 SDB)
Upvote this comment to keep helping more new steemians
Transfer SBD to @tuanis in exchange of an upvote and support this project

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @dancinggirl to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Welcome to steemit! you will enjoy the platform for sure! :)

Sounds like you've live one interesting life so far.

Thank you, pretty interesting I think!

welcome to steemit... I hope you are comfortable here

Hi and welcome to steemit. I hope you like it here. Enjoy your time and good luck!

Hi @dancinggirl!, Welcome to Steemit. Thanks for your introduction. What do you think the current trend of EDM will evolve into in the future? And more importantly, what's your guilty comfort food?

Hi, thanks! I think that dance music will continue to rise in popularity, but I think that the commercial EDM bubble is going to burst and people will continue to discover more underground house and techno music. My guilty comfort food is anything Mediterranean, even though I'm lactose intolerant and shouldn't have dairy, I still cheat and eat feta sometimes.

Feta is too good!

I agree. I feel like the underground EDM music will come to the forefront like a wave, with another different aspect of the underground overlapping or fusing with the forefront again.

Thanks for answering!

Welcome to Steemit! That's really awesome you started your own label and are pursing that career. Look forward to more! Love to hear more about the Netherlands also! Feel free to follow or contact me if you need anything, great community!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56965.36
ETH 2498.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34