Hi Steemit! I'm finally introducing myself!steemCreated with Sketch.

Hi Steemit! 

My name is Daniel.  

I'm 30 years old, was born in Nassau, Bahamas but I mostly grew up in New York City, where I just moved back to. Last month, I graduated with my MBA, and on July 24th I'm starting a new job in the crypto space (paperwork hasn't been signed, so don't want to jinx it).  

It's a moment of a lot of change in my life, and I'm very excited! I've moved back to NYC, I'm starting a new job, and I'm getting married. Right now, I'm on vacation with my fiancee. 


(I know I took the photo yesterday!)

Why I'm Posting
Since I'm on vacation right now, I decided to explore a few blockchains more deeply. That's why I've come back to Steemit. I signed up many months ago, but I never wrote anything. 

I'll probably write about FinTech. For the last few months, I've been running a monthly #FinTech book club. We've read The Age of Cryptocurrency, The Unbanking of America and Flash Boys. This month we're reading Money: the Unauthorized Biography. I've been using Medium to write articles about the books, but I find it's very hard to get conversations started on Medium. Maybe there's a better way to do it here? (If you’re interested, you can sign up for the book club here

My Background
After college, I worked for a research lab called the Jameel Poverty Action Lab at MIT, which tries to figure out what is effective and what is not when trying to make a difference. They sent me to live in Sierra Leone, where I studied the impact of new technologies and micro-finance products on rural families. That was the most formative experience in my life so far. I was working directly for MIT professors, learning a ton. I was living in an environment completely different from what I was used to. We were studying challenging problems and facing tough realities. Unfortunately, much of what charities, for-profits and governments do to help low-income communities and countries doesn't help, and it can even hurt. That said, some projects were incredibly successful, and large impacts were made without huge budgets. 

After 3 years with the lab across many countries, I enrolled in my MBA program. 9 months later I dropped out because I was afraid I was wasting money and time. The truth is I had joined the MBA program not knowing what else to do, and I was taking a broad range of classes that were interesting but aimless. 

I ended up starting a tech company with a friend of mine from undergrad. We were able to raise a bit of money, build a team and get customers to pay for our product, but we struggled from there. We shut down the business last summer. Honestly, I was left deflated and defeated.  

At this point, I returned to school with a completely new view. I was able to take courses specifically designed for the work I want to do. I took some graduate classes in the computer science department on data science so I could better work with engineering teams. I was able to do an independent study on the enterprise applications of ethereum because I thought I might want to work in the crypto space after school.  

Here's a picture of me graduating last month:

My Interests
One of my favorite parts of living in NYC is going to lots of events. There's one called the Secret Science Club that's really cool, and there's always interesting meetups and lectures at the universities. I'm also a big fan of the craft beer wave that has taken over NYC (and the US) the last few years.  

I try to be a big reader, as much as life permits. A few of my favorite bloggers are Tyler Cowen (MarginalRevolution), Matt Levine (Money Stuff), and Wait But Why. Usually, I read non-fiction. I've been reading a lot recently on social justice in the US. I just finished Evicted and my favorite book I read recently was Just Mercy. There's a discussion on how the criminal justice system treats juveniles, and I'm not sure if I've ever been so upset.  

I also play Fantasy English Premier League with a few friends each year. I find it a fun way to relax.  

Questions:
*What advice do you have to newcomers?
*Any particularly interesting accounts you recommend I follow?    

Sort:  

Hello!! Glad to see more people like you - here joining steemit! Becoming a steamian is a great adventure! Here you can win money while bloging! At the beginning it wouldn't be easy, but it isn't impossible. So just write from your heart and everything will be allright. Wish you much luck! Cheers!
Greetings, @duhov!

Thanks @duhov. I appreciate the encouragement

Welcome to the best platform on earth =)

Congratulations @dan.heyman! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Have fun on steemit! Following you!

Hey Daniel! Welcome to steemit. Its nice for the community to have a future business man like you... Enjoy your vacation and good luck here in steem... following for more content from you.... :)

© copyright - all rights reserved by @tinashe

 Welcome to this incredible platform, hope everything will work out for you. Being here it’s not easy but not difficult neither only an extra effort will go a long way, engagement is the key good luck I’m @tinashe Start by Following ,Upvoting &Resteeming people and they will do the same. 

QUICK TIPS FOR NEWBIES
👉 CLICK HERE

Thank you


CLICK👆 HERE

Thanks @tinashe

I found the tips for newbies helpful. I'm going to keep your emoji codes handy. 😄

you are welcome

Hello Dan.heyman:) Nice to see more people like you - here joining steemit! Becoming a steamian is a great adventure ! Here you can win money while bloging! At the beginning it wouldn't be easy, but it isn't impossible. So just write from your heart and everything will be allright. Wish you much luck! Cheers! Greetings, @mekong !

Hello, I'm glad to join the fastest growing social network where you can earn money while having fun and posting articles. Get ready for this amazing adventure by learning some basic things:
Do not post more than 2-3 posts per day.
Do not copy, just write about what's interesting and excite you.
Be yourself and do not be in a hurry, it is difficult at first but not impossible, take things as a hobby and fun and you will succeed.
Join chat to get help and more tips - https://discord.gg/MHsEM8n

welcome upvoted you =D

I welcome you steemit community and look forward to loads of interesting posts from you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67310.11
ETH 3522.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71