Hello, Steemers! Fire, photography, artistic expression and models for a new economy.

A quick bio

 I’m Damon Hudac and I live in Buffalo, New York. I’ve been lurking on the Steem network for a couple months and am excited to experiment with this revolutionary model for Social Media and content creation.

I guess you could consider many of my artistic expression to be new media art, or fire art. These days I am focusing on my photography and searching for ways to combine them. I just started my website based on my photography.

When shooting photos, I tend to go for interesting overall shapes or scenes, or I try to convey a wordless idea that pricks at your subconscious. I strive to photograph and make shit that hasn’t been done before.

For a long time, I never considered myself an “artist,” but my involvement in the Burning Man scene inspired me to start building and making things – mostly flaming sculptures and interactive flame effects. Before I knew it, I had event planners asking me to bring my fire art to their events, so these days I embrace the “artist” label. I describe my work as “fire art,” “new media” or “artistic photography,” depending on the piece. I’m also starting to explore the artistic possibilities of virtual reality, though it will be some months before I have anything to show for it.

4 years ago, I founded the Töad Meädow Arts Collective to bring artists and creatives together and make art without limits. I want to give to other people the joy, opportunity, and encouragement that I used to find at Burning Man events. Töad Meädow does have a Steem account (@toadmeadow), but we have not posted yet, as we’re working on a big, Steem-themed art project. Once it's ready, we will use that as our introductory post.

Thanks for reading this, and be sure to follow my account to keep up on my new photography, pyromania and artistic experiments.

P.S. I know that it’s tradition to include a picture of me holding a sign with my Steem account name. If you look at the bottom of my website, in the page footer, you will see that I linked to my Steem account. This is the real Damon Hudac. Trust me. I'm an artist.

Sort:  

Wellcome to family :)

Welcome to the community!

So hey Bro nice to meet you I really enjoy that type of Photography that you do and I would like to see more so I'm going to follow you in just hope to see you around I'm going to do some cleaning up of my followers because I'm getting a lot of random stuff that's not really helping my work flow much so anyway yeah I actually had a question about your steem power I think, the delegated steem power I've been looking into trying to get my head around that delegation part and it looks like you have a lot delegated or delegate it to you I'm not really sure but anyway I was just curious about that, I'm just a struggling artist here trying to make it on steemit thanks brother be well @damonhudac

The Steempower belongs to the arts collective that I run, @toadmeadow where we work on group art projects. I have a lot of my own personal art projects that I do, a lot of which is photography, so I got a separate Steem account to split the two. Since @toadmeadow tends to do bigger things, there may be months of inactivity on that account, and I figured it would make more sense to give the Steem Power to an account that's more active.

Thanks for the follow. I'm trying to grow myself on this site, so I appreciate any resteems to your hordes of followers.

I also had a thought...if you wanted to write an occasional blog post for our Toad Meadow website, we can talk about that. I'd have to see some writing samples and give you an idea of the tone of article and what I wanted included. Depending on the project, maybe pay you in Steem or delegate SP to you for a period of time. LMK if you're interested and if so, I'll send you a message through your web site.

Welcome to steemit Damon :)
Great you proved your indendity by linking to steam on your (btw. really well made) homepage!
The #photography area here is quite big, good luck there!
I recommended and shared you via @welcoming, a service of mine where I share promising newcomers!
Greets!

Thanks! I've had my eye on the @welcoming account. I'm glad to know that I made the cut!

Congratulations @damonhudac! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote
You got a First Reply
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hello, Damon, and Welcome to Steemit.

As a photographer, you will surely find Steemit to be a great place to show your work. "Photography" is one of the most popular tags / topics on Steemit, so you may already have a head start.

As for strategy, it's advisable if your posts have a balance of photos and text. Say, around 20 photos, with a suitable amount of relevant text. That will result in a high-quality post that gets noticed, gets read, gets perused thoroughly, and (hopefully) earns some Steem and Steem Power rewards.

Hope this helps a bit.
Best of luck (from a fellow Niagara-regioner) and Full Steem Ahead.

Thanks for the note. 20 pictures per post is never going to happen with me since I'm a quality over quantity guy and it takes me so long to edit them. Cool to see another Niagara-regioner here, even if you've left for Thailand.

Yes, in fact, one of the guiding rules on Steemit is quality over content. They really don't want everyone just uploading one lousy photo of their cat or whatever. (Which does happen here too.)

But as a serious photographer, I'm sure your post will be quality. Here's another photographer who I follow and regularly check out and comment on. https://steemit.com/photography/@boddhisattva/frosty-morning

Welcome.
Look forward to hear more from you.

Congratulations @damonhudac! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Wellcome to Steemit.
Put us riding your photos

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 58443.62
ETH 2524.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34