A short introduction from the land of Wales

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

daiharris.jpg

Swmae pawb (pronounced ‘shoe-my’ ‘pow-b’ and meaning ‘hello everyone’ in my native tongue). My name is Dai Harris and I come from the beautiful land of Wales.

For those outside of the UK, you may not have heard of Wales. It’s roughly 8,000 square miles of mountainous land, located to the West of England, with roughly 3 million people and a mainly wet climate. Our national sport is widely recognised to be Rugby Union, although football (soccer) challenges that notion from time to time. We have our own parliament, flag, national anthem and despite the still popular belief that we’re a principality, finally achieved official recognition as a country in December 2011. Our capital city is Cardiff, a beautiful cosmopolitan city with excellent travel links to other major locations throughout the UK. And despite only being small, a few of us Welsh have made some significant impacts on the world (Anthony Hopkins, Tom Jones, Catherine Zeta-Jones, Shirley Bassey and Roald Dahl - to name but a few).

By day I work for a global technology company as a Business Analyst. Most of my time is spent crunching performance figures and supporting executive decisions. I split my time working from home and working out of our Cardiff based office and thoroughly enjoy the freedom I am afforded to do so. I enjoy my work and pour my heart and soul into it. All helped by the fact I respect the company I work for.

By night, I crunch football related statistics and try to identify market patterns. I have built a tool to quickly analyse multiple European football leagues and report on current and historic performance. Most weekends I place bets based on my analysis and have been known to make a little money from time to time. If anyone’s interested to know more, feel free to check out my website at www.daiharris.com.

When I’m not sat behind a computer, I enjoy spending time with my beautiful wife. We’ve been together 3 years and married for a little over 6 months. We both share a love of playing guitar. She’s a professional musician and dance instructor, so is by far the most talented of the two of us. And she runs her own professional music and dance academy, teaching anyone ages 4+. We have a 13-year-old King Charles Spaniel named Joey, who enjoys taking things that don’t belong to him and hiding them in his bed. He’s a good boy most of the time though, and extremely low maintenance. The perfect pet.

Now that you know a little about me, know that it’s my intention to mainly post about football statistics on Steemit, given that I have a vested interest in the subject. I’m hoping that I can contribute to the community in such a way that those also interested can take something from my posts and use it to their advantage.

I look forward to being part of our development and will see you all in the ether.

Sort:  

Swmae pawb To you too !

Welcome to steemit @daiharris. Join #minnowsupportproject for more help. Type in the comments of a post @OriginalWorks and it will help you verify that content is original.
Transfer SBD to @treeplanter to plant trees and get an get an upvote in exchange of your donation (Min 0.01 SDB)
Upvote this comment to keep helping more new steemians
Transfer SBD to @tuanis in exchange of an upvote and support this project

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @daiharris to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Hello! interesting write! look in my blog! I wish good luck on the project!

Thank you. Will check out your blog.

welcome to steemit world . Always Remember 5 points..
1)Never copy paste content from any where ..
2)It can take some time but if you work hard , God will definitely give you success..
3)Never abuse anyone or post haterade content on steemit..
4)Daily post will increase your REPUTATION SCORE (number by the side of your name)
Reputation score is mainly based on upvotes and comments .
No matter what you post ,if it gets upvotes and comments then reputation score will increase
Don't let anyone flag you or downvote you..
5)Your first post should be your introduction..
I wish you success
You can follow me @be4u

Thank you for the pointers. I appreciate it.

I used to live near Haverfordwest, on the coast in Broad Haven, while I served in the US Navy. My daughter was born there and my son went to school in town. It was a wonderful four years and we visit occasionally. Beautiful country.

When we used to visit Cardiff in the 80s, the estuary was a mud pit at low tide. It's nice to see what they've done to the city with the sea wall.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63423.66
ETH 3077.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87