A Very Verified Introspective Introduction

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

Hello, my name is David! Thanks for taking the time to check me out and read this introduction. I'm another musician who works 40 hours a week to support the habit. Due to the nature of my profession, I can't or won't talk about it (secret secret!). I have a few other hobbies and interest including sports (Go Braves, and 49ers unfortunately), hunting (duck), poker, statistics, hard science, social sciences (majored in Criminology), writing, and philosophy (I keep an open mind to anything). In the end though, the music is always on my mind.

And Just When It Hit Me, Somebody Turned Around and Shouted

Play That Funkee Music White Boy

Imgur

I was born, raised, and continue to live in Springfield, Missouri. I'm a self-taught musician--I bought my first cheap electric guitar from a cousin (he never played it) back in 2005, and used the fledgling internet and various resources, I slowly learned how to play guitar. Bad habits be damned. 6 months later, some buddies in high school needed a bass player for the school Talent Show, and since my brother had a bass guitar--I can play guitar so that's the same, right?--I offered to join for the show. We played Cat Scratch Fever. Playing the one song in front of hundreds of peers, in a word, you could say I caught the fever. From there, I stuck with the bass guitar (with an acoustic guitar always being played in private), and learned to love the low end. I was all about that bass before it was popular.

Play that Funkee Music Right

Imgur

I played original music in a couple different bands, but remained loyal to the same guitar player for 10 years. We were first known as Funkee Noosa, then simply The Noosa. As time went by, it became less about becoming insanely rich and famous, and more about the creation. After 10 years, we've moved on to other things as Father Time remains undefeated. I thoroughly enjoyed my time playing in an original band. From the nights playing for a packed crowd in Nashville or a local bar, to playing live on a morning news segment in Kansas City, to playing only for the bar staff at a local bar, we always managed to have a good time.

Play that Funkee Music 'til You Die

Imgur

Once my tenure as a bass player ended, I took a few months off from music completely. It wasn't long until the itch needed to be scratched once again, and I looked to my cousin, Robbie D (new music pending!), who expressed interest in evolving his craft as a hip hop artist.

The next chapter in my musical career has begun, and we've worked together to put out his first mixtape, Heathen Heaven, which will be available October 26th. An album is in the works for next year, with all original beats created by Rob and myself. Creating hip hop as opposed to rock music has been an interesting challenge, but the entire process--creating beats from scratch, recording the music and vocals, mixing, and mastering--is an immense challenge I look forward to tackling.

The canvas is blank, and I'm excited to see what comes out.

Imgur

I'm looking forward to seeing what gems I can find here on Steemit, so keep making it interesting!

Sort:  

Ho there, fellow Springfieldian!
Considered yourself followed, and this post upvoted and resteemed. :)

Winston - You're up in Springfield?

I'm less than 2 hours from you!

No mic and headphones yet, but I could stop up there for a podcast if you wanted some weekend.

Just across the border in Arkansas on the south side of Lake Bull Shoals.

It usually takes about an hour and a half to get to Springfield, and some weeks I work up there!

It would be great to get to meet you!

Thanks! Glad to see Springfield well represented.

I accidentally resteemed this but I'm glad I did. Keep making music friend.

Hello! I play the guitar too, though I'm just a beginner! Nice to see you on Steemit!

Best advice I can give (that you didn't ask for) is stick with it and keep practicing--it may get really boring and really hard at times, but you gotta power through it.

Welcome to Steemit, @d-ro. Glad to see you here homie. Gonna follow and resteem and you already have my upvote! Hit me up if you have any questions. Also you need to get Discord if you don't already have it. I'm modding the #originalmusic room in there.

Welcome to steemit. Hope to see more good posts @d-ro

Welcome to steemit!

Welcome welcome @d-ro!

I often work up in the Springfield, MO area, so if you ever see @papa-pepper riding around in a van up in your area, feel free to honk!

Did you check out the open mic hosted by @luzcypher yet?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 68014.74
ETH 3533.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81