To Be, or Not to Be, that is the Question...

I have chosen to be present here within the Steemit Community and am excited to have the opportunity to introduce myself. I am a 30 something year old female who experiences life passionately, intensely, energetically and philosophically, with optimism and enthusiasm. The heading to my introduction piece highlights a love of literature and the creative arts, with a contemplative and reflective space around meaning and purpose; the central themes that underpin most of the writing by some of the most prominent philosophers. To be, or not to be, that is the question (Prince Hamlet, Hamlet by William Shakespeare) captures the agony of pain, suffering and the sense of unfairness that at times pervades one's life experiences, while acknowledging that from pain and suffering, growth, meaning and purpose can evolve. Thus, to experience pain and suffering, to persevere in times of hardship means embracing the challenges that life presents and becoming the best version of oneself that one can be.

Modelling_Photo_DB.jpg

To live life to the fullest and embrace the challenges that are presented requires intent and commitment to choices, decisions and actions, as one of my most beloved characters from Star Wars communicates "Do, or Do Not, There is No Try" (Yoda, The Empire Strikes Back). I identify as a Nerd rather than a Geek. I love technology, comics, science-fiction, fantasy and video games (ok....pop culture in general, as I also love Anime and Manga!). I identify as a Nerd in accordance with the definition presented by the Urban Dictionary (https://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=Nerd) in that I have a circle of close friends of varying backgrounds, ethnicity, and stereotypes. I am also comfortable in my own company. I am compassionate, kind-hearted, empathetic, considerate of others (at times to a fault), with a righteous moral compass. I, at times, find other humans confusing, literally interpreting the statements that are made and providing a concrete response; having to clarify when sarcasm was used; checking the nuances of social speech and mannerisms; and often having lowered tolerance for the day-to-day banter that is often engaged in to lubricate social relationships. I am highly sensitive and attuned to others emotions, akin to an Empath (think Mantis from Guardians of the Galaxy 2). Where I deviate from the traditional stereotype of a "Nerd" is in my love of physical movement and sport. I practice yoga on a daily basis and am a practitioner of Brazilian Jiu Jitsu (BJJ). I was awarded my blue belt in May 2016 and have competed in BJJ since November 2015. I enjoy long distance running, playing basketball and beach volleyball, as well as swimming and being active outdoors (i.e., snorkelling, scuba diving, hiking and more). I intend within the blogs I post on Steemit to integrate my love of popular culture (with almost obsessive focus on Star Wars), literature, creative arts, philosophy and psychology with my lived experiences, as well as my love of physical activity (mostly yoga and BJJ).

Core_Active_BJJ_Comp.jpg
Photo courtesy of @core.active.sportswear

I am excited about the possibility of connecting with other like-minded people who might share similar interests and passions, simultaneously providing opportunities to engage in healthy intellectual discussions, debates and the expansion of our own understanding of self, others, the world in which we exist and the universe. I would also like to express gratitude to @beachbuminvestor for encouraging me to sign up to Steemit. So with much warmth, gratitude, compassion and excitement I will sign off this introduction in the true Jedi form.......MAY THE FORCE BE WITH YOU!

Sort:  

hola, welcome!

Hello to you also @pilot :D

Welcome to Steemit! Let me know if you need help, im helping @beachbuminvestor what i can :D

Thank you for the welcome @johnycrypto and for your offer of help. I will contact you with any questions I might have with using Steemit :)

Welcome to Steemit. I am looking forward to seeing many diverse posts from you! Following, upvoted and resteemed.

Thank you @cecicastor for the welcome and for following, upvoting and resteeming - I am most grateful :-). I look forward to future comments and reflections from you on blogs that I post. Have an amazing day.

I just read it all..and enjoyed..you've got a beautiful mind and you deserve the bests..keep on writing please..
waiting for your next post gladly..

@bitpost - your comment was heart warming and made me smile. Thank you for taking the time to read the entire post and sharing the thought that I have a beautiful mind. I do hope that future posts that I share are of a standard to maintain the kind thoughts that you have expressed. Much gratitude, DeeBee

welcome to steemit community, hope you can get knowledge, insight and experience here. best regards from me @teukukhaidir

Thank you @teukukhaidir for taking the time to read my post and to provide a comment reflective of the content :D

Yay....and thank you :)

Congratulations @d-bumblebee! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @d-bumblebee! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote
You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

welcome to steemit world . Always Remember 5 points..
1)Never copy paste content from any where ..
2)It can take some time but if you work hard , God will definitely give you success..
3)Never abuse anyone or post haterade content on steemit..
4)Daily post will increase your REPUTATION SCORE (number by the side of your name)
Reputation score is mainly based on upvotes and comments .
No matter what you post ,if it gets upvotes and comments then reputation score will increase
Don't let anyone flag you or downvote you..
5)Your first post should be your introduction..
I wish you success
You can follow me @be4u

Hello and welcome to the community. I look forward with interest to seeing your future posts so am Following you.

@sallybeth23 thank you for the greeting and welcome. I appreciate you following me to view future posts. I am still deciding on which focus to take with the posts that I write on Steemit. Any feedback that you are willing to provide would be gratefully received. Have a great day. Dee

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58809.44
ETH 3151.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43