It is no coincidence... - my introduction.

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

I have a strong belief that the moment we stop craving a certain thing to happen in our lives and just accept the reality as it is, the small (or big) things we wished for will naturally emerge in front of our eyes. That’s exactly the mechanism that has thrown me into the steemit community, cryptocurrencies and blockchain in general. As a physicist I'm rational and critical. I base my beliefs on direct experience. And this direct experience led me to a belief that there's no such thing as a coincidence.

My name is Filip, I'm 23 years old, living in Poland and after having a steem account for a few weeks I’ve finally decided to introduce myself to the community.

2.jpg

In about 8 months from now I plan on succefully defending my master’s thesis in theoretical physics. I always dreamt of being a scientist, but the reality of academia verified that university is not a place for me. However for a few years now I’ve been having this thought to utilize my natural analytical skills that were enhanced by my physical education in the computer science field. The thing is I’ve grown up with a strong conviction, which I hold to this day, that I cannot dedicate myself to work that I don’t believe in. For that reason I needed a motivation to get into goal-oriented learning in the field of computer science. All it took was a strong wish to find an interesting and inspiring field to dive into.

20861932_10213358803501710_3448387377711973294_o.jpg
peculiar circumstances

In august in very peculiar circumstances (a campfire on a psytrance festival in Poland) I met a man who, after long conversation about the nature of reality, subjectivity and experience decided to introduce me to his area of expertise which happened to be blockchain-based technology. What’s important – we weren’t talking as much technical detail as we did ideology. I was primarily introduced to Steem and BitShares and it had a great impact on me. “I might have found it”, I thought. When I came back home after the festival I realized I can attend a cryptography course on my university which wasn’t previously available and a friend of mine, with whom I haven’t spoken for a long time , started out of the blue enthusiastically gabbing me about learning programming. At this point I just knew – I felt like I was being given signs “Go at it” from every possible direction.

And so I did. I’m taking programming courses, dedicating as much time as possible to learn about crypto and blockchains, meanwhile preparing my master’s thesis. The value I’d like to take out of steemit is mainly knowledge about the technology. What I can provide? We’ll see. I’ve been told many times by my friends to start writing down my reflections on various subjects from physics, through philosophy, to spirituality which they found to be interesting so steemit might provide itself to be good means for me to finally start doing it. The sheer idea of this community is inspiring enough to try and participate in any way I can.

If there’s anything more I can say about myself that somehow defines me as a person, it’d be the fact that I’m a dedicated meditation practicioner (I could even risk a statement that I’m a practicing buddhist). Moreover I’m a wannabe traveller, I love nature, and my most recent subjects of interests are electronic music production, foreign languages, ethnobotanics and drawing.

20170718_201255.jpg
love for nature - Bieszczady mountains

Przechwytywanie.PNG
latest activity - spending hours playing with synthesisers

I want to keep it short, not to bore you to death with my life story and my own picture of myself. It’ll probably partly unveil naturally as I go on participating in the community. I hope I'll find a suitable way to express myself in this community, may peace be with you!

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem @cynamon I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Welcome Filip :) I am also just a few months away from defending my masterthesis - medicine it is (was) for me ;)
Glad you found steemit, gave you a little boost + a resteem (=a share of this post) via @welcoming - You can find other new users there!
Oh and by the way, always try to use all five tags for more visibility!
To this one i would probably add "science", "introducemyself", "poland" + one other f.e. ;) greets!

Hey, thanks for the advice with the tags and for the resteem! Good luck with your thesis ;)

Good luck defending your thesis! It’s incredibly daunting to do but you know your topic better than virtually anyone! And welcome to Steemit! :) @mazzle

It stands to the everlasting credit of science that by acting on the human mind it has overcome man's insecurity before himself and before nature.

- Albert Einstein

Welcome to the Steemit community!

Welcome cynamon !!!
So glad you started posting and joined steemit ! Can't wait to read more from you.

Congratulations @cynamon! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59961.00
ETH 3199.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46