Introducing Caleb: surfer, weight lifter, explorer, and major geek

Introduction

Hey Steemit! My name is Caleb, and hopefully this post will share with you a bit of my life, interests, and what I want to do here on Steemit. My friend introduced me to the platform a bit ago, mainly showing how his "Let's Plays" and game reviews reached a larger audience than he would normally get. He especially emphasized how good Steemit is for those who enjoy blogging and writing. I was instantly hooked on the idea.

Fast forward a few weeks and a lot of nervous delays, here I am writing this post, introducing myself to a bigger pond than I'm used to. I'm genuinely excited to be apart of this community and am looking forward to posting more and more. But without further ado, let's get started by explaining a bit of what I do.

I'm a recently turned 18 year old high school student in the US, with passions for a variety of different things - one of the most prominent being writing. The idea that written content can immediately reach a large audience is pretty stellar. The fact that I can share my interest, hobbies, and explorations with you guys all in a comfortable form factor is something I haven't really had the privilege to do before. 

To show you what I'm in to, I'm going to take you a trip around my room. I'll highlight the things I treasure enough to surround myself in every day and every night. 

Memory Lane

This is a custom poster print of the world famous wave known as Banzai Pipeline. No, I'm not that dude getting pitted, though I wish I was. This picture captures the raw nature and power surfing brings to the table. Pipeline is a heavy, fast, terrifying as hell wave - and I couldn't think of anything better to personify my view on it. As a newcomer to the sport, I put a lot of time and effort to try and improve myself. I always strove for a bigger wave, a more challenging condition, the next further step. That's what surfing is to me - constantly challenging yourself to face the new mountain tomorrow - and it's a mountain that never stops getting bigger.

You might have passed the Star Wars section at Disneyland, viewing the canvas prints and thinking, "what kind of sucker would actually shell out hard earned money for this?". Well, you've found him. Star Wars, and in extension all imaginative works of art preceding it have a special place in my heart. 

I'm talking Dune, Ranger's Apprentice, Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief, the classics that I grew up on. But Star Wars sparked the flame. It captured my imagination in a way no other medium did. It's now the reason why I geek out hard at this sort of stuff. For all this and more, Star Wars, you've earned a spot on the wall.

My secret lover. Coincidentally, the very thing I'm using to write this post. I've grown up on PCs (and gaming) for my entire life. The first time my dad shoved a laptop in my hand to stop me from bugging him all the time was a little over a decade ago. I was hooked ever since! While the real world calls, I very much still enjoy playing games and talking with friends from across the globe. If you ever thought about investing in a fun past time, I couldn't recommend this more.

Ah, the great outdoors! I've always had a wanderlust and a desire to see the world. When I managed to claw my hands onto a car early 2017, I finally made that a tiny portion of that dream a reality. I enjoy going on hikes, exploring new places, and needlessly day dreaming about hiking the Nepalese mountains or surfing on the brink of Costa Rican jungles. Who knows? Maybe in time, I'll share these adventures with you through Steemit.

Last but certainly not least, weight lifting. Over the past few months, I've been prioritizing this over anything. That guy in the gif is one of my good friends who inspired me to get back into lifting. I saw them hammering away each day at the gym, after school like clockwork. Even when nobody else attended, when it rained, when it turned dark, you could count on the weights to be slamming at that particular corner of the world. The results, the confidence, the achievement you feel from weightlifting makes it all worth it in the end. 

Conclusion

So there it is! Those are all the main things that I find passion in and what I like to strive for every day. I intend to make series or posts on all of these topics. I'm pretty excited to share my perspective with you guys and maybe satisfy some readers on this platform. If you have any slight tips for a new Steemiter like me, dropping a comment would mean the world. I'm not sure if I made this too long for an introduction post, but I thought I'd give you the full scoop. Thanks for reading.

Peace,

Caleb




Sort:  

Welcome Caleb on Steemit! You are definitely a unique personality and the way you've expressed yourself in intro post! I followed you.

One tip: always try to be yourself, who you truly are and the way you write is totally fine. ;) Take care mate.

welcome to steemit wish you best of luck keep doing work hard .

welcome to steemit .... greeting from indonesian (^_^)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66038.71
ETH 3178.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05