You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hi Steemit, I'm Chrissy! Writer/Artist/Activist

Hi Chrissy,

Glad to have you and your beautiful son on Steem :-).

Excuse my ignorance (I'm from the UK), when you say aboriginal from the DTES, which aboriginal peoples are you talking about? Do you descend from Inuit?

Also thanks for opening my eyes, or at least clearing them up a bit, I have/had quite a misty eyed perspective on Canada, expecting it to be all Mounties and happiness :-)

CG

Sort:  

Hi there! I am Coast Salish from the Squamish Nation. We are indigenous to the Squamish area, which is about an hour away from Vancouver British Columbia. I'm glad you enjoyed the article and learned a little about Canada! We do have this big front to the world, but if you google "Canada's 3rd world", you will see the part of Canada that stays hidden from the rest of the world. These are rural First Nations reserves where some do not have electricity, clean drinking water, etc. It is pretty appalling.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56278.39
ETH 2377.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29