My Bachelors Degree Final Year Project : NEED SOME PERSPECTIVESsteemCreated with Sketch.


Hey everyone! This introduction is a continuation from my first post right here The purpose of me writing this article is to get some perspectives and comments on my Final Year Project I am about to do for my Degree in Business Administration (Hons) Banking and Finance.

I am to write a research paper and conduct a study on something related to my field of Finance and/or Banking. As a crypto enthusiast, a plethora of topics come into mind as despite not taking I.T. as a major (due to my foundation in business), luckily I'm still in the right course to be able to combine my passion with a research of choice!

Now I've got about 3 months to conduct a research and its only degree level. All of my other peers probably have no idea what Cryptocurrency nor Bitcoin is. Coming from Malaysia, it's only slowly gaining attention and traction. Most people in my university just wish to pass and take a simple topic. I, on the other hand have a strong craving for knowledge, something new and bizzare, especially when it comes to cryptocurrencies or science related topics.

Heres a list of things that popped in my head when I was brainstorming prior to meeting my Project Advisor:


After meeting my Advisor..


He was utterly intrigued on the topic of Cryptocurrencies and has a very basic understanding of it as a Statistics lecturer. Though he said he doesn't see the adoption of Bitcoin or Crypto in Malaysia, he says that it's something new in Malaysia, little is known and to conduct research on my topics would take a lot of time. Since we have to conduct primary data research and the research conducted has to be limited to within Malaysia.

But here's his suggestion:

"To find academic research papers on Bitcoin and perceptions/purchase intentions/perspectives"

That's right, he narrowed it down to Bitcoin and perception due to simplicity and its "taboo" stance in my country. Fair enough, I am to search for the related variables so that I may formulate the right questions for my primary research.

Now, I'm still rather new to understanding how I am to go about writing my paper, but I will learn along the way.

Below are a list of research papers I am going through and to show my advisor:

  • A profile of Bitcoin Currency: An Exploratory Study
  • Bitcoin - Asset or currency Revealing users' hidden intentions
  • Bitcoin The revolution of the payment system
  • Bitcoin’s potential for going mainstream
  • Exploring the use of digital currencies as a form of payment in Barbados
  • The relationship between perceived value and the intention of using Bitcoin <- Seems most promising!

But here's the problem about my suggested topic:


My advisor doesn't seem to be knowledgeable (at least on the basics) of the underlying framework of Bitcoin and the Blockchain. A distributed ledger which can open so many doors for potential research ideas.

Which is why I'm seeking for suggestions from the Steemit Community on any ideas, suggestions, support on a research that can be conducted in a country such as Malaysia within a short time frame of 3 months

My backup is merely on the perceptions of Bitcoin. But any feedback would be grand!



FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER
FOLLOW ME ON INSTAGRAM
FOLLOW ME ON FACEBOOK

Sort:  

This post has received a 0.28 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Hi, as a new Steemian, welcome. I was wondering if you could upvote me at https://steemit.com/steem/@bertimusx/the-intersection-of-cryptocurrency-steemit-and-world-peace to help me get established. I already upvoted your first post. I can also be followed at twitter.com/ChurchofCryptos. Following you on twitter.

Sure thing @bertismusx , followed and upvoted!

Welcome @Crypto.hype to Steemit :) . I hope you enjoy your time here, its a great community :) Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me at @khunpoom

Sure khunpoom, you've got yourself a follow

Hi, well the timeframe of 3 months is quite short ... but for sure there are papers out there that are worth studying. Especially for the Topic Bitccoin there has to be something. Iam following you around and keep my eyes open. Have fun @Crypto.hype

indeed it's really on a tight schedule. I'll keep my eyes peeled and Bitcoin should be doable.. Thanks for that @jedigeiss , followed you back! Nice intro post btw

great post mate goodluck

thanks gwapology, you too!

What course module is it? Is it on statitistics? if it is, then your advisor is probably more interested in how you apply the statistics to analyse your research problem (whatever it is). Yes, you must identify a suitable research problem to show that you have learned the skills (statistics or whatever) that you are supposed to have learned for your course. If the examiners are not familiar with crypto, you can bridge the gap by explaining and putting in information and showing how it connects to the course module.

I have a masters in maths as well as in education (instructional design and technology). Hit me up and feel free to ask if you have any questions.

Cheers!

Oh yes! Check out my technical analysis for today on Steemit.
Covering Bitcoin Cash, Bitcoin, Ethereum, Iota, Litecoin, Monero, NEO, Ripple, Steem, Gold and Silver.
https://steemit.com/trading/@tradersharpe/technical-analysis-2017-08-25
with Support and Resistance and watch levels.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60984.38
ETH 3379.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47